Home Animation Celebrate the 2018 Ringo Awards with the Comics Industry at Baltimore ComicCon!

Celebrate the 2018 Ringo Awards with the Comics Industry at Baltimore ComicCon!


BALTIMORE, MARYLAND – September 19, 2018 – The 2018 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards will be presented on the evening of Saturday, September 29, 2018 as part of the fan- and pro-favorite convention, The Baltimore Comic-Con. This unique evening offers the opportunity to socialize, dine, and network with comic industry professionals, and watch as they celebrate recognition of their peers, co-workers, and competitors. A limited number of tickets are now available for purchase by the public.

Ringo Awards tickets include a full cocktail hour (cash bar), a full service dinner (featuring a Baltimore crab cake), the awards ceremony, and a gift bag, and are now available for $125. Please visit our website to purchase with credit card: baltimorecomiccon.com/tickets

Start your evening at our cocktail hour, meeting industry professionals and other fans, and enjoy our keynote speaker, Katie Cook, known as cartoonist of Nothing Special and the multiple award-nominated Gronk, as well as writer on IDW’s My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic and artist on Marvel’s Spider-Man.

Presenters at the 2nd annual Ringo Awards include Christie Blanch and Thom Zahler; David and Julia Petersen; Denys Cowan; Jenny Frison and Ramona Fradon; Rob Stull and Gus Vazquez; Adriana Melo; Jeff Parker and Karl Kesel; and Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Mark Waid, and Matt Wieringo.

Additionally, our friends at The Hero Initiative will be presenting their 2018 Hero Lifetime Achievement Award to Denny O’Neil, and their Dick Giordano Humanitarian Award to Marc Andreyko.

We are also thrilled to present a fantastic gift bag to our first 300 attendees purchasing tickets for this comic event of the fall. This year’s gift bag is an amazing collection of books, including such treasures as Hellboy: Darkness Calls from Dark Horse, Becoming Andy Warhol from Abrams ComicArts,

Finding Nemo from TokyoPop, Jem and the Holograms from IDW Publishing, Spencer & Lockefrom Action Lab Entertainment, and Shadowman Volume 1 from Valiant Entertainment. In addition to these wonderful books, expect contributions from other publishers as well, including BOOM! Studios, Harper Collins, Scholastic, and Shire Post Mint.

The Ringo Awards would like to recognize and thank our 2018 sponsors: Abrams ComicArts, Action Lab Entertainment, Baltimore Comic-Con, BOOM! Studios, Cards, Comics & Collectibles, Dark Horse Comics, Diamond Comic Distributors, Drawn and Quarterly, Geppi Family Enterprises, Harper Collins, IDW Publishing, Scholastic, Shire Post Mint, Source Point Press, South Carolina Comic-Con, TokyoPop, and Valiant Entertainment.

About Mike Wieringo

Michael Lance “Mike” Wieringo was known to fans and friends as “Ringo”, which is how he signed his artwork. His comics artist graced the pages of DC Comics’ The Flash, Adventures of Superman, Batman, and Robin, Marvel Comics’ Fantastic Four, Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man, Sensational Spider-Man, and Rogue, and his co-creation Tellos. He passed away on August 12, 2007 at the young age of 44 from an apparent heart attack.

About the Ringo Awards

The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The Ringo Awards recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories, and are the only industry awards nominated by fans and pros alike, with final voting by the comic professional community. Launched in 2017, the awards ceremony is held annually at the Baltimore Comic-Con. Further details are available at www.ringoawards.com.

About the Baltimore Comic-Con

The Baltimore Comic-Con is celebrating its 18th year of bringing the comic book industry to the Baltimore and Washington D.C. area. For more information, please visit www.baltimorecomiccon.com