Home Comic Books 2021 Ringo Award Winners Announced

2021 Ringo Award Winners Announced


Comic creative professionals, publishers, retailers, and fans came together (virtually) Saturday night, October 23, 2021 to experience the comic book industry celebrating recognition of their peers, co-workers, and competitors at the 2021 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards.
This year’s Ringo Awards was sponsored by Cards, Comics & Collectibles, the Baltimore Comic-Con, as well as BOOM! StudiosGeekELove, Geppi Family Enterprises, GraphixHeavy MetalRocketship EntertainmentSource Point PressTapas MediaValiant Entertainment, and WEBTOON.
The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill, and fun of comics. The nomination ballot is determined by fans and pros alike.
A very special thanks go to the sponsors who donated items to the 2021 Ringo Awards Gift Bags, including AbramsBOOM! StudiosDiamond Select ToysGemstone Publishing, Geppi Family Enterprises, GraphixHeavy MetalImage ComicsRocketship EntertainmentSource Point Press, and Valiant Entertainment.
Winners of the 2021 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are:
Fan Favorites:
  • Sponsored by Rocketship Entertainment:
  • Favorite Hero: Persephone from Lore Olympus (WEBTOON)
  • Favorite Villain: Emma from My Deepest Secret (WEBTOON)
  • Favorite New Series: Midnight Poppy Land
  • Favorite New Talent: Lilydusk
  • Favorite Publisher: Rocketship Entertainment
Jury and Fan Winners:
  • Sponsored by GeekElove:
  • Best Non-fiction Comic Work: Kent State: Four Dead in Ohio, Abrams Books
  • Sponsored by Graphix:
  • Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel: Twins, Scholastic Graphix
  • Sponsored by Heavy Metal:
  • Best Original Graphic Novel: Pulp, Image Comics
  • Sponsored by Valiant Entertainment:
  • Best Presentation in Design: Dave Cockrum’s X-Men Artifact Edition, IDW Publishing
  • Sponsored by WEBTOON:
  • Best Artist or Penciller: Jamal Campbell
  • Best Humor Comic: Metalshark Bro 2: Assault on Hamzig Island, Scout Comics
  • Best Inker: Sanford Greene
  • Best Series: Usagi Yojimbo, IDW Publishing
  • Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Folklords, BOOM! Studios
  • Sponsored by BOOM! Studios:
  • Best Writer: James Tynion IV
  • Best Cover Artist: Peach Momoko
  • Best Single Issue or Story: The O.Z., self-published
  • Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Stan Sakai
Hero Initiative Awards:
  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Gene Ha
  • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Quesada
In addition, the Baltimore Comic-Con would like to thank those individuals who presented at this year’s award ceremony, including: Keynote speaker Steve Rotterdam; Jason Douglas and Steenz, Christopher Priest, John Gallagher and Jamar Nicholas, Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, Matt Wieringo, Dean Haspiel and Leeanne Krecic, Amy Reeder and Michael Son, Art Baltazar, and Mitch Gerads and Tom King. We would also like to thank John Gallagher for his contributions to our awards ceremony program and presentation, as well as Comic Corps and Word Balloon for producing.
Please join us next year for the sixth annual Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards taking place at the 23rd annual Baltimore Comic-Con on October 29, 2022, and keep an eye on our website and social media accounts below for 2022 ballot information.