MD – Inhumans vs. X-Men #1 Launch Party

000-ivx_1_cover

Writer CHARLES SOULE (Uncanny Inhumans, Daredevil, Poe Dameron) appears at Third Eye Comics on Saturday, December 17, 2016 from 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM to sign INHUMANS VS. X-MEN #1 from Marvel Comics!

RSVP on Facebook!

Third Eye Comics
2027-A West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 897-0322

UK – Elstree 1976 Screening

000_elstree-1976

Director Jon Spira hosts a screening of his Star Wars documentary at the Cube Cinema on Tuesday, November 22nd at 8:00 PM! Tickets available at the link…

Elstree 1976 is a documentary looking at the lives of the people behind the masks and beneath the helmets in the original Star Wars movie. Over the summer of 1976, a wide array of North American and British actors, along with an inexhaustible supply of film extras, donned crazy costumes and headgear to populate George Lucas’s universe. Few of them understood what the film even was, let alone the global cultural impact it would go on to have. Filmmaker Jon Spira has tracked a cross section of these people down and explored the bizarre community they have formed, to find out what it means to exist in the shadow of such a phenomenon.

RSVP on Facebook!

The Cube
Dove Street South, BS2 8JD Bristol, UK
+44 117 907 4190

UK – Elstree 1976 Signing

000_elstree-1976

Director Jon Spira will be signing DVD copies of his documentary Elstree 1976 – accompanied by some of the cast members – at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on 18th November at 6:00pm. Joining Jon Spira will be rebel pilot Red 12, John Chapman, and Anthony Forrest – the Jedi mind-tricked Sandtrooper. “These aren’t the droids we are looking for”

Behind the masks. Beneath the helmets. Big People. Small Roles.

In 1976, the original Star Wars movie was shot in suburban North London. Nobody involved had any idea how big the film would become, many couldn’t even remember the title. Yet, for the extras and actors in smaller roles, their faces hidden behind masks and beneath helmets, this seemingly insignificant job would go on to colour their lives even four decades later.

Documentary filmmaker Jon Spira has tracked down a cross-section of these actors and extras, including David Prowse (Darth Vader) and Jeremy Bulloch (Boba Fett), to find out what it means to have been a part of the most beloved cinematic universe of all time.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #1 Signing

000-star-wars-doctor-aphra-1-cover

Writer Kieron Gillen and artist Kev Walker will be signing the first issue of Star Wars: Doctor Aphra at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on Wednesday 7th December at 6:00pm.

Star Wars: Doctor Aphra – Following her time in the clutches of Darth Vader, Doctor Aphra has barely escaped with her life. If he ever learns of her survival, he’ll hunt her to the ends of the galaxy. But for now, it’s time for a return to what she does best.

With the droids 0-0-0 and BT-1 in tow, she’s off in search of rare artifacts from the galactic center to the Outer Rim and everywhere in between. Aphra’s got debts to pay after all. Just as long as she can stay one step ahead of the Empire, some Bounty Hunters and just about everyone else in the galaxy!

Kieron Gillen came to attention as a comic writer with his collaboration with Jamie McKelvie, Phonogram. In 2014 the same partnership managed to find a way to make their brand of pop-comics sell, with the critical and commercial smash, The Wicked + The Divine. He’s worked for publishers including Marvel, Image and Avatar, on books as varied as Iron Man, Uber, THREE, Thor, Journey Into Mystery, Uncanny X-Men and many more. His acclaimed work on Marvel’s Darth Vader introduced the character of Doctor Aphra.

Kev Walker began his career on 2000 AD and Warhammer comics as well as a number of DC and Marvel titles. He is also noted for his illustrations for the collectible card game Magic: The Gathering.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

CA – The Princess Diarist Signing

000-cfisher-princess-diarist-fb

Carrie Fisher appears at the Grove’s Barnes & Noble to sign her latest book THE PRINCESS DIARIST on Monday November 28, 2016 at 7:00 PM!

When Carrie Fisher recently discovered the journals she kept during the filming of the first Star Wars movie, she was astonished to see what they had preserved–plaintive love poems, unbridled musings with youthful naiveté and a vulnerability that she barely recognized. The Princess Diarist is Fisher’s intimate and revealing recollection of what happened on one of the most famous film sets of all.

This is a wristbanded event. Wristbands will be issued on a first-come, first-served basis beginning Monday November 28th at 9am to customers who purchase “The Princess Diarist” from Barnes & Noble at The Grove.
• Limit 1 wristband per book
• No memorabilia please

RSVP on Facebook!

Barnes & Noble – The Grove
189 The Grove Dr, Ste K 30, Los Angeles, California 90036
(323) 525-0270

NYC – Greg Hildebrandt Signing

000_-cap-hildebrandtPress Release:

Metropolis Gallery will be hosting a very special event for fans of Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Comic Book art as world-renowned artist Greg Hildebrandt will be making a personal appearance at our Midtown Manhattan gallery, where he will be painting, chatting, signing comics, books, art, and more for his loyal fans. The lucky few who acquire our VIP package will have an opportunity to speak with Greg, and watch him work on a painting to be published, from 11am-12pm, an hour before general admission ticket holders will be admitted, at which time he will continue to paint, answer questions, and sign comics.

Greg Hildebrandt first achieved international acclaim along with his twin brother Tim when they published their series of Lord of the Rings calendars in the late 1970s. The duo went on to create a vast variety of paintings and illustrations for a veritable who’s who of pop cultural legends: Star Wars, Marvel Comics, DC Comics, Magic the Gathering, and even the rock band Black Sabbath have commissioned works by the Brothers Hildebrandt, over seventy pieces from their body of work are currently on display for sale at Metropolis Gallery.

For fans looking to get their comic books signed and CGC Signature Series graded, VIP pass holders will be admitted early, from 11am-12pm, and general admission pass holders from 1-2pm. Greg will be on the premises painting and greeting his fans until 5pm.

The event will be taking place on Saturday, November 19th from 12-5 pm at Metropolis Gallery, located at 36 w. 37th St., 6th Floor, New York, NY 10018.

We look forward to seeing you all as we welcome one of the true living legends of the Comic Book and Fantasy Art world to our gallery.

Tickets available at the link…

VIP Ticket: $25 11-12pm Early Admission
*Intimate Meeting with Greg Hildebrandt from 11am-12pm
*Comic Books Signed, Witnessed and Readied for CGC Submission
*Hildebrandt Show and Metropolis Permanent Art Gallery Access
*Painting Demonstration

General Admission Ticket: $10 12-5pm, Signing from 1pm-2pm
*Comic Books Signed, Witnessed and Readied for CGC Submission
*Hildebrandt Show and Metropolis Permanent Art Gallery Access
*Painting Demonstration

The gallery is open to the public Tuesday -Friday from 11am-5pm and the exhibit will run through December 30th.

RSVP on Facebook!

Metropolis Gallery
36 W 37th St, New York, New York 10018
(212) 260-4147

CA – Black Friday 2016 Signing

000_-phat16-thodges

Cartoonist Tom Hodges appears at Phat Collectibles on Friday, November 25th to sign comics and draw sketches!

Phat Collectibles
1201 S. Euclid Street, Anaheim, CA 92804
(714) 808-9355

 

NYC – The Princess Diarist Signing

000_cfisher-nyc

Carrie Fisher appears at the Strand to sign her latest book THE PRINCESS DIARIST on Tuesday, November 22nd at 7:00 PM!

Press Release:

A long time ago in a galaxy right here, Princess Leia first graced the silver screen. She has since grown into an icon, being turned into decorative figurines and Halloween costumes. Recently, the infamous Carrie Fisher found the journals she had kept during the filming of on the most legendary movies of all time: Star Wars.

Featuring excerpts from her handwritten journals from a pre-star teen and new views from a larger-than-life celebrity invites readers into the joys and absurdities of Hollywood stardom. Join us at the main floor’s Buying Desk for a book signing!

Buy a copy of The Princess Diarist or a $15 gift card to attend this event. Please note that payment is required for all online event orders at the time of checkout. The event will be located in the Strand’s 3rd floor Rare Book Room at our store at 828 Broadway at 12th Street.

RSVP on Facebook!

Strand Book Store
828 Broadway, New York, NY, 10003-4805
(212) 473-1452

MN – Star Wars: Destiny Launch Party

000-starwarsdestiny

Game designer Lukas Litzsinger, comic book author Mark Waid, and acclaimed novelist Timothy Zahn appear at Fantasy Flight Games on Friday, November 11th at 5:00 PM to celebrate the launch of STAR WARS: DESTINY!

RSVP on Facebook!

Fantasy Flight Games
1975 County Road B2 W, Roseville, MN 55113-2705

OR – Sci-Fi Authorfest 10 Signing

A starfleet of science fiction and fantasy authors descends for one galactic book signing event on Sunday, November 20, 2016 at 4:00 PM. Meet Brent Weeks, Timothy Zahn, Daniel H. Wilson, Annie Bellet, Tina Connolly, David Levine, Curtis Chen, Lili Saintcrow, Dave Barra, Wendy Wagner, Jennifer Brozek, Mike Moscoe/Shepherd, J. A. Pitts, Devon Monk, Steve Perry, Patrick Swenson, Rhiannon Held, Diana Pharaoh Francis, Kevin James Breaux, and Deborah Ross.

Powell’s City of Books
3415 SW Cedar Hills Blvd. Beaverton, OR 97005
503-228-465

Next Page »