LA – Ed Asner Signing

Press Release:

Meet Emmy Award-winning actor Ed Asner when he comes to Octavia Books on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 3:00 PM to discuss and sign his new book, THE GROUCHY HISTORIAN: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and NutjobsYou must purchase the book from Octavia Books to attend. 

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It’s about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.

Ed Asner is a television legend, well known for his role as Lou Grant on The Mary Tyler Moore Show and subsequent spin-off Lou Grant. He is the winner of seven acting Emmy Awards, and has been nominated a total of twenty times. Asner also made a name for himself as a trade unionist and a political activist. He served two terms as president of the Screen Actors Guild, from 1981-1985, during which he was an outspoken critic of former SAG President Ronald Reagan, then the US president, for his Central American policy. He lives in Los Angeles.

Octavia Books
513 Octavia Street New Orleans, LA 70115-2055
504-899-READ (7323)

LA – Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body Signing

Press Release:

Octavia Books is thrilled beyond measure to be featuring New York Times bestselling author Roxane Gay on her HUNGER book tour! Local author Maurice Carlos Ruffin will introduce and interview Ms. Gay at an event at the New Orleans JCC on Wednesday, July 12, 2017 at 7:00 pm.

You must pre-purchase the book from Octavia Books to attend the event. Details at the link.

Roxane Gay has written with intimacy and sensitivity about food and bodies, using her own emotional and psychological struggles as a means of exploring our shared anxieties over pleasure, consumption, appearance, and health. As a woman who describes her own body as “wildly undisciplined,” Roxane understands the tension between desire and denial, between self-comfort and self-care. In HUNGER, she casts an insightful and critical eye on her childhood, teens, and twenties–including the devastating act of violence that acted as a turning point in her young life–and brings readers into the present and the realities, pains, and joys of her daily life.

With the bracing candor, vulnerability, and authority that have made her one of the most admired voices of her generation, Roxane Gay explores what it means to be overweight in a time when the bigger you are, the less you are seen. HUNGER is a deeply personal memoir from one of our finest writers, and tells a story that hasn’t yet been told but needs to be.

This event was originally planned as an in-store event, but has been moved to the JCC to accommodate larger demand. We are very grateful to the JCC for partnering with Octavia Books in support of this important community event.

Roxane Gay is the author of the nonfiction BAD FEMINIST, which was a New York Times bestseller; the novel AN UNTAMED STATE, a finalist for the Dayton Peace Prize; and the story collection, AYITI. An opinion contributor to The New York Times, she has also written for Time, McSweeney’s, the Virginia Quarterly Review, the Los Angeles Times, The Nation, The Rumpus, Bookforum, Slate, and Salon, where she was a featured columnist. Her fiction has also been selected for Best American Short Stories 2012, and Best American Mystery Stories 2014, and other publications. She lives in Lafayette, Indiana.

RSVP on Facebook!

Jewish Community Center, Uptown
5342 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70115

LA – Judy Moody & Stink Signing

April 10, 2014 by  
Filed under Louisiana, Other, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on LA – Judy Moody & Stink Signing

jms

Author Megan McDonald signs at Octavia Books on May 10, 2014 at 10:00 am!

Octavia Books
513 Octavia Street New Orleans, LA 70115-2055
504-899-READ (7323)

After the Deluge Tour

Comments Off on After the Deluge Tour

neufeld

Josh Neufeld has announced an extensive book tour for his graphic novel A.D.: After the Deluge.

  • Wednesday, August 19: I commemorate A.D.’s hardcover release with a presentation and signing in Austin, Texas, @ BookPeople. 603 N. Lamar, Austin, 7pm.
  • Thursday, August 20: A.D. presentation & signing @ Domy Books in Houston, Texas. 1709 Westheimer, Houston, 7:00 pm. This event will be taped by Book TV!
  • Friday, August 21: A.D. hits New Orleans. Release party with me and some of the book’s subjects, live and in person! Plus an art show, music, and refreshments. The Canary Collective, 329 Julia Street, New Orleans, 6pm.
  • Saturday, August 22: Signing @ Maple Street Book Shop, 7523 Maple Street, New Orleans. 1pm.
  • Saturday, August 22: Signing @ Octavia Books, 513 Octavia Street, New Orleans. 3:30 pm.
  • Sunday, August 23: Signing @ Beth’s Books, 2700 Chartres Street, New Orleans, 1pm.
  • Tuesday, August 25: A.D.’s New York release party @ Idlewild Books, co-sponsored by SMITH magazine and Teachers & Writers Collaborative. Live music by Mary McBride, refreshments, and an art auction to benefit New Orleans relief organizations. 12 West 19th St., New York City, 7pm.
  • Friday, August 28: A.D. presentation and signing @ The Book Cellar, in Chicago. 4736-38 North Lincoln Ave., Chicago, 7pm.
  • Saturday, August 29: Katrina’s fourth anniversary. I will be doing an author coffee @ Writers Workspace Chicago. 5443 N. Broadway St., Chicago, 11am.
  • Saturday, August 29: Signing @ Chicago Comics, 3244 N Clark Street, Chicago, 3 pm.
  • Tuesday, September 8: Presentation & signing @ Brookline Booksmith, 279 Harvard Street, Brookline, Massachusetts, 7pm.
  • Wednesday, September 9: Signing @ Million Year Picnic, 99 Mt. Auburn Street, Cambridge, Mass., 1 pm.
  • Wednesday, September 16: Pantheon editor Lisa Weinert, SMITH comics editor Jeff Newelt, and I discuss the evolution of A.D. from web to print. McNally Jackson Books, 52 Prince Street, New York City, 7pm.
  • September 24: Presentation & signing @ Bergen Street Comics, 470 Bergen Street, Brooklyn, 7pm. 
  • September 26–27: A.D. hits D.C. for the annual Small Press Expo (SPX). Bethesda North Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, 5701 Marinelli Road, North Bethesda, Maryland.
  • October 8–11: I will be a guest of Portland’s Wordstock Literary Festival, “the largest celebration of literature and literacy in the Pacific Northwest.” Oregon Convention Center, Portland, Oregon.
  • November 14–15: A.D. heads south again for The Miami Book Fair International.