OR – Mr. Colostomy Signing + Ambergris Performance

Matt Thurber (aka Mr. Colostomy, aka Ambergris) appears at Floating World Comics for a comic signing and Ambergris performance on Friday July 21, signing at 6:00 PM, performance at 7:00 PM.

Ambergris is Thurber’s long running and indefinable investigation into musical performance, storytelling, and theater. Tonight Ambergris will be a 2-piece including Thurber’s longtime collaborator, Tom Phillips. For fans of Gilbert and Sullivan, Cole Porter, Sun City Girls, and Depeche Mode.

Matthew Thurber is a cartoonist, musician, filmmaker, and multimedia artist. Thurber was born in Washington State and has lived in New York City since 1996. His graphic novels 1-800-MICE and INFOMANIACS were published by PictureBox in 2011 and 2013. The recipient of a 2010 NYFA fiction fellowship, Thurber has created comics and illustrations for numerous anthologies and magazines such as Kramers Ergot, the Believer, the New York Times, Mould Map, the Ganzfeld, and Paper Rodeo. His artwork has been displayed at Southfirst Gallery, the Fumetto Festival in Switzerland, and at Weird Things in Toronto.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

NYC – Telling Stories: Fiction in Comics

Comments Off on NYC – Telling Stories: Fiction in Comics

 

CBLDF Launches “Conversational Comics,” a Summer Speaker Series at Union Pool, Brooklyn!

 

cbldf-postcard-WEB.jpg
The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund proudly presents Conversational Comics: a new summer speaker series taking place on three separate Saturday afternoons at Union Pool in Williamsburg, Brooklyn.

Please join us for lively panel discussions with artists currently changing the face of comics, all moderated by comics critic Bill Kartalopoulos. Then stick around to get a book signed, hit the taco truck, and sip a summer drink with our featured cartoonists.

All events take place at 2:00 pm in the back room at Union Pool. Union Pool is located at 484 Union Ave., Brooklyn, NY 11211, one block from the Lorimer-Metropolitan G and L stop.

July 11 @ 2:00 pm
Jessica Abel (Artbabe, La Perdida), Jason Little (Shutterbug Follies) and Matthew Thurber (1-800-Mice, Kramers Ergot) will talk about the nature of narrative and fiction in comics. We’ll consider forms of storytelling that comics can adapt, and others that comics can generate.

 

Telling Stories: Fiction in Comics

Suggested donation for each event is $5. All proceeds go to benefit the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund.

Bill Kartalopoulos teaches classes about comics and illustration at Parsons. He is a Contributing Editor at Print Magazine, where he frequently writes about comics.

The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund was founded in 1986 as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of First Amendment rights for members of the comics community. For additional information, donations, and other inquiries please visit www.cbldf.org