OR – Roopert Release Party

August Lipp appears at Floating World Comics on Wednesday, February 7th at 6:00 PM for a release party and dramatic recitation of his eagerly anticipated new book ROOPERT.

Roopert is excited to return to school after a summer of splendid adventures! His best chums will all be there: Clyve the shy badger, Benji the other, slightly shorter bear, Hannah the ballsy fox, Timothy the average frog, Clarissa the dentally-advantaged crocodile and many more. Hey, this school is a real ZOO! What kind of antics will they get up to when the bell rings and Miss Julienne the human’s 6th grade class begins? Irreverence and beastly nature are masked by overzealous displays of etiquette as the child animals struggle for agency in the face of less-than-responsible authority figures. Follow along as this comic meanders through Roopert’s first action-packed day of middle school! Adult supervision recommended.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Is This Guy For Real Signing

Cartoonist Box Brown appears on Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 6:00 PM for a special book release party and author talk at Floating World Comics.

About the book:
Comedian and performer Andy Kaufman’s resume was impressive – a popular role on the beloved sitcom Taxi, a high-profile stand-up career, and a surprisingly successful stint in professional wrestling. Although he was by all accounts a sensitive and thoughtful person, he’s ironically best remembered for his various contemptible personas, which were so committed and so convincing that all but his closest family and friends were completely taken in. Why would someone so gentle-natured and sensitive build an entire career seeking the hatred of his audience? What drives a performer to solicit that reaction? Graphic novelist Box Brown takes on the complex and often hilarious life of Andy Kaufman.

Box Brown is an Ignatz Award-winning cartoonist, illustrator, and comic publisher from Philadelphia. His book Andre the Giant: Life and Legend was released in 2014 and spent three weeks on the New York Times bestsellers list. His second graphic novel with publisher First Second is Tetris: The Games People Play. Brown launched the independent comics publishing house Retrofit Comics in 2011.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Orange Thief Release Party + Art Exhibition

Sophie Franz appears at Floating World Comics on Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 6:00 PM for the Orange Thief release party and art exhibit.

Orange Thief is a compilation of images pulled from Sophie’s voluminous collection of sketchbooks. Doodles! Hedge mazes! Half-assed ripoffs of famous paintings! Kermit! Cowboys! More cowboys! Horse-faced men! Man-faced horses! All of these and more can be found between the covers of this little sketchbook collection.

Sophie Franz lives in Portland, Oregon and teaches painting and cartooning at the Multnomah Arts Center. Someday she’ll make another comic.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – I Am Not Okay With This Signing

Cartoonist Charles Forsman (THE END OF THE FUCKING WORLD, CELEBRATED SUMMER) appears at Floating World Comics on Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 6:00 PM to sign his newest graphic novel I AM NOT OKAY WITH THIS from Fantagraphics!

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Before The Rain Release Party

French artist Anne Pomel appears at Floating World Comics on Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 6:00 PM for Before The Rain release party and signing

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – The Willows Release Party + Art Show

Nathan Carson and Sam Ford sign at Floating World Comics on Thursday, November 2nd at 7:00 PM.

Nathan Carson is a musician, writer, and Moth StorySlam champion from Portland, OR. He is widely known as co-founder and drummer of the internationally touring doom metal band Witch Mountain, host of the XRAY FM radio show The Heavy Metal Sewïng Cïrcle, and owner of the boutique music booking agency Nanotear. His byline can be found in the Willamette Week and the Oregonian. A regular on the weird fiction convention circuit, he has published many short stories and novelettes in critically acclaimed horror anthologies. His first standalone novella, Starr Creek, was recently released by Lazy Fascist Press and currently sits at #1 on the Goodreads list of “Books Like Stranger Things.”

Sam Ford is an acclaimed illustrator, and drummer of the lightning-in-a-bottle musical duo Wizard Rifle. Sam was apprenticed as a youth to award-winning comic book legend Paul Chadwick (Concrete) and has used the skills he learned to produce countless highly detailed posters, album covers, and t-shirts for bands as varied as Mountain Goats, Agalloch, Pentagram, Black Cobra, and Thrones. He has called Portland, Los Angeles, and New York City home, but is currently based in Washington state, living a hermetic life in a custom-built trailer, cranking out comic books and music at a fevered pace. The Willows is his comic debut.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Tongues Signing

Award-winning comics artist Anders Nilsen will officially unveil his new book Tongues at Floating World Comics in Portland on Thursday, September 7th from 6:00 – 9:00 PM. Original artwork from the book will be on display in conjunction with Portland’s First Thursdays Art Walk, and Nilsen will give a short talk about the book and the process of putting it together.

Set in Modern Central Asia Tongues follows the intertwined stories of an imprisoned god, an East African orphan on an errand of murder and a young American man with a teddy bear, lost on the tattered fringes of the human world. It is a story of adventure and revenge and a meditation on human nature in this fraught present moment.

The full-color, large-format Tongues is Nilsen’s most ambitious work to date and marks a return to something a bit closer to the more traditional comics form he last explored in his multiple award winning Big Questions (Drawn and Quarterly, 2011). The artist is serializing the book in large-format, full-color comics to be self-published and distributed in conjunction with No Miracles Press over the next few years until the story is complete.

About the author: Anders Nilsen is the author of nine books including Big Questions, The End, and Poetry is Useless. His comics have appeared in the New York Times, Kramer’s Ergot, Medium and elsewhere. His work has been translated widely, and exhibited internationally. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – My Pretty Vampire Signing

Cartoonist Katie Skelly appears at Floating World Comics for a book release party and signing on Thursday August 24th from 6:00 to 8:00 PM.

Clover is a Bardot-esque blonde who dreams of the (now dead) girl she once was before becoming a fanged bloodsucker. She is being kept prisoner by her brother, Marcel, who fears Clover will be hunted by the outside world. Clover’s curiosity, however, will not be suppressed: impetuous, sensual, strong-willed, and fearless, she plans her escape. Katie Skelly will be in store signing copies!

Katie Skelly is a cartoonist who lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. Her previous comics include Nurse Nurse, and Operation Margarine. My Pretty Vampire is a sexy, sophisticated horror romp that heralds author Katie Skelly as a powerful voice in comics.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Mr. Colostomy Signing + Ambergris Performance

Matt Thurber (aka Mr. Colostomy, aka Ambergris) appears at Floating World Comics for a comic signing and Ambergris performance on Friday July 21, signing at 6:00 PM, performance at 7:00 PM.

Ambergris is Thurber’s long running and indefinable investigation into musical performance, storytelling, and theater. Tonight Ambergris will be a 2-piece including Thurber’s longtime collaborator, Tom Phillips. For fans of Gilbert and Sullivan, Cole Porter, Sun City Girls, and Depeche Mode.

Matthew Thurber is a cartoonist, musician, filmmaker, and multimedia artist. Thurber was born in Washington State and has lived in New York City since 1996. His graphic novels 1-800-MICE and INFOMANIACS were published by PictureBox in 2011 and 2013. The recipient of a 2010 NYFA fiction fellowship, Thurber has created comics and illustrations for numerous anthologies and magazines such as Kramers Ergot, the Believer, the New York Times, Mould Map, the Ganzfeld, and Paper Rodeo. His artwork has been displayed at Southfirst Gallery, the Fumetto Festival in Switzerland, and at Weird Things in Toronto.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Cold Cube Press Launch Party

Press Release:

Join Floating World Comics on Sunday July 2nd at 6:00 PM for a release party with Cold Cube Press and their two newest publications by local artists, Lindsay Anne Watson and Ross Jackson!

Ross Jackson’s “Sticky Sweets” is a wistful look at three kids in their early teens pulling pranks and making short movies to kill time in the height of a humid Florida summer. Equally humorous and heartfelt, Jackson employs his classic cartooning style to weave a non-linear story that examines the awkward phase between youth and adolescence. Part of a larger narrative, “Sticky Sweets” revolves around a young boy, Ari, who finds out his neighborhood friend has gone missing. To avoid confronting his emotions of loss or confusion, Ari travels with a neighbor to make short movies in the cool oasis of an air-conditioned mall. Past and present weave together through their movies and memories, as Ari and his friends establish their footing in the face of oncoming reality.

Lindsay Watson’s “Well at the Very Least” is a collection of work made over the past year. Split into three main sections, the book centers around what is lost in language between selves, be them distinct people or two (or more) parts of the same self. to quote Rich Smith in The Stranger : “Judging by all the dream logic, the doubling of selves, and the moon-eyed, moon-faced characters that dominate Watson’s collection, she seems mostly concerned with the cyclical nature of time and the multitudes we all contain.” Watson does not usually employ the typical panel diagram format of comics, and instead invites us to delve into each poem-drawing as the inhabit the whole page. Because there is no definite resolution to each of the sections, we are left to parse the dialogue and body language of these myriad selves that Watson has shown us.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

« Previous PageNext Page »