ME – Adventures in Cartooning Signing

October 4, 2013 by  
Filed under Comic Books, Maine, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on ME – Adventures in Cartooning Signing

adv_cartoon

James Sturm, founder of the Center of Cartoon Studies and creator of the Adventures in Cartooning series, appears at Casablanca Comics on Saturday, October 12, 2013 from 11:00am until 2:00pm.

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – Trillium Signing

jl0811013

Jeff Lemire, creator of Sweet Tooth, Essex County and writer for Animal Man, and many other DC titles appears at Casablanca Comics on Saturday, August 10 from 12:00pm until 3:00pm for a special book launch event.

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

MeCAF 2013 Announces Schedule

May 12, 2013 by  
Filed under Comic Books, Convention News, Maine, Top Stories

Comments Off on MeCAF 2013 Announces Schedule

mecaf2013

The Maine Comics Arts Festival (MeCAF) has announced the schedule for their 2013 show! Guests include Jeff Smith, Raina Telgemeier, Sean Murphy, Brian Wood, Ming Doyle, Dave Roman, Rick Parker, Colleen AF Venable, John Green, Zack Giallongo, Jeff Pert, Joe Quinones, Maris Wicks, and many more!

RSVP on Facebook!

Press Release:

MeCAF will have panels and workshops on Saturday May 18th at the Portland Public Library and Sunday at the festival site at Ocean Gateway.

Saturday, May 18th
Portland Public Library – Rines Auditorium

1:00- A conversation with Jeff Smith, creator of Bone and RASL- We will be discussing Jeff’s past work and upcoming projects. (Please note that there will not be any book signings at the library. Jeff will be signing books on Sunday at the festival).

2:00- Rick Parker cartooning workshop: Join Cartoonist Rick Parker (artist of Beavis and Butthead, Harry Potty, Diary of a Stinky Dead Kid and many others) as he shares tips and techniques for drawing comics. This will be a demonstration where members of the audience will be encouraged to draw.

3:00- Raina Telgemeier! Raina Telgemeier, creator of Smile and Drama, and artist of the Babysitter’s Club series, discusses her current projects and gives a peek at her work process.

Sunday, May 19th
Ocean Gateway Terminal Maine Comics Arts Festival programming (please check back for updates as we finalize the schedule)

10:30- Jeff Pert Kid’s Cartooning Class

11:30- Colleen Venable, John Green, and Zack Giallongo

1:00- Lake Region High School Comic Class Project

2:00-TBA

3:00- TBA

 

ME – Big Nate Signing

October 3, 2012 by  
Filed under Comic Strips, Maine, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on ME – Big Nate Signing

Lincoln Peirce, the creator of the best selling series Big Nate, signs on Saturday, November 3rd from 11:00 am until 2:00 pm at Casablanca Comics Portland store. He will chat with fans and sign copies of his latest books including Big Nate All Work and No Play: A Collection of Sunday Strips.

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – Drama Signing

September 27, 2012 by  
Filed under Comic Books, Maine, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on ME – Drama Signing

New York Times bestselling creator Raina Telgemeier, author and artist of Smile and Drama, appears at Casablanca Comics on Saturday, October 27, 2012 from 11:00am until 2:00pm. Raina will meet fans and sign copies of her books. Last year her book Smile was the winner of the Maine Student Book Award.

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – First Second Creators Signing

September 24, 2012 by  
Filed under Comic Books, Maine, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on ME – First Second Creators Signing

   

First Second Publishing creators Ben Hatke and Zack Giallongo appear at Casablanca Comics for a book signing event on Saturday October 20, 2012 from 11:00am until 2:00pm. Both creators have new books and will sketch and sign copies and chat with fans. Fun for all ages!

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – Womanthology Signing

Project founder Renae De Liz and other creators from the groundbreaking book sign on Saturday, March 24th from 2:00pm – 5:00pm at Casablanca Comics. Ellen Crenshaw said on her twitter (@etcillustration) that she’d be there!

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – Archie Comics Signing

Artist Dan Parent signs at Casablanca Comics on Saturday, March 3, 2012 from 11:00am until 2:00pm. Dan is the regular artist for Archie Comics including the current Archie Meets Kiss storyline. He is also the writer and artist of the new Kevin Keller series from Archie. Join us as Casablanca Comics kicks off a month long celebration for our 25th Anniversary! Come dressed as your favorite Archie character OR as a member of Kiss!

RSVP on Facebook!

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – A Flight of Angels Signing

November 25, 2011 by  
Filed under Comic Books, Maine, Signing and Appearance Profiles

Comments Off on ME – A Flight of Angels Signing

Rebecca Guay signs on Friday, December 2, 2011 from 6:00pm until 8:00pm.

RSVP on Facebook!

Press Release:

Meet fantasy art legend Rebecca Guay as she signs her newest book “A Flight of Angels”. Rebecca Guay is well known for her artwork for the Magic the Gathering card game and her book illustrations. Her latest two books are “The Last Dragon” from Dark Horse Comics and “A Flight of Angels” from DC Vertigo Comics.

ANGELS: Guardians. Messengers. Warriors. Fallen.

All these angelic aspects and more are explored in A FLIGHT OF ANGELS, a riveting tale in the tradition of The Decameron and The Canterbury Tales.

A mysterious angel plummets to Earth and lands deep in a dark forest, where his dying body is found by the mystical denizens of this strange place. As the gathered fauns, fairies, hags and hobgoblins debate what to do with him, each tells a different story of who they imagine this celestial creature to be: a hero, a lover, a protector or a killer. Once the stories have been told, a verdict is rendered – and the outcome will leave you breathless. Conceived and stunningly illustrated by fantasy art legend Rebecca Guay (Magic: The Gathering, Veils), A FLIGHT OF ANGELS is written by an all-star line-up of today’s top fantasy talent, including Bill Willingham (FABLES) and Holly Black (The Spiderwick Chronicles) in tales that will grip your heart and make your imagination soar.

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

ME – Locke and Key Signing

Meet author Joe Hill, creator of Locke and Key, on Saturday, August 14th from 4-6 at Casablanca Comics’ Portland store!

Joe will be signing copies of his new comic, Locke and Key: Keys to the Kingdom, his new hardcover Locke and Key: Crown of Shadows and much more. We will have plenty of books available, including his novels Heart Shaped Box and Horns.

Casablanca Comics
151 Middle Street, Portland, ME 04101

« Previous PageNext Page »