LA Comic Book and Sci Fi Con to Feature Alex Nino Plus Guests from The Walking Dead and Teen Wolf for June 2013

Comments Off on LA Comic Book and Sci Fi Con to Feature Alex Nino Plus Guests from The Walking Dead and Teen Wolf for June 2013

LA June 2013

Press Release:


Los Angeles, CA-May 21, 2013-The LOS ANGELES COMIC BOOK AND SCIENCE FICTION CONVENTION presents JON BERNTHAL from THE WALKING DEAD AMC Cable series and TYLER HOECHLIN and HOLLAND RODEN from MTV’S TEEN WOLF appearing in person at the SUNDAY, JUNE 23, 2013 show.

JON BERNTHAL starred as “Shane Walsh” in Season One and Two of THE WALKING DEAD Cable Series. JON will be signing autographs 12:00 P.M.-3:00 P.M. THE WALKING DEAD is the #1 Best Selling Comic Book series and Highest Rated Cable series with over 12 million viewers for the third season. JON’S upcoming Movie roles include The Wolf of Wall Street (Directed by Martin Scorsese and also starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Matthew McConaughey) and Grudge Match (also starring Robert De Niro, Sylvester Stallone and Kim Basinger).

TYLER HOECHLIN and HOLLAND RODEN, the stars of MTV’S TEEN WOLF appear to sign autographs from 1:00 P.M.-3:00 P.M. TYLER stars as “Derek Hale,” a mysterious werewolf, and HOLLAND stars as “Lydia Martin,” a person who has an immunity to supernatural abilities. MTV’S TEEN WOLF is an edgier adaptation of the 1985 Michael J. Fox Movie. The third season of TEEN WOLF starts in June.

Other Special Guests Appearing:

ALEX NINO, Classic Marvel and DC Comics Artist, will appear in person to sign autographs and do sketches. ALEX’S unique visual style has been featured in such Classic DC Comics as Weird War Tales, House of Mystery, Forbidden Tales of Dark Mansion, Secrets of Sinister House, Weird Mystery Tales, The Witching Hour, Korak, and Rima the Jungle Girl. ALEX’S Marvel Comic work includes The Savage Sword of Conan and Unknown Worlds of Science Fiction. ALEX’S magazine work includes Heavy Metal and Warren Magazines Creepy, Eerie and Vampirella. ALEX will have his recent works Andie and the Alien and Monster Candy (Bliss on Tap Publishing) on sale.

BARBARA LUNA starred as “Lt. Marlena Moreau” in the Classic STAR TREK episode “Mirror, Mirror.” BARBARA’S other television credits include starring as “Koori” in two episodes of Buck Rogers in the 25th Century, The Wild, Wild West, Zorro, The Man From U.N.C.L.E., Hawaii Five-O, The Invaders and many others.

BUTCH PATRICK starred as “Eddie Munster” in two seasons of THE MUNSTERS and the movie MUNSTER, GO HOME! BUTCH’S other television credits include Lidsville, The Monkees, I Dream of Jeannie, My Favorite Martian, and the animated movie The Phantom Tollbooth (starring as the voice of Milo).

RICHARD ANDERSON starred as “Oscar Goldman” in the ABC-TV series THE SIX MILLION DOLLAR MAN and THE BIONIC WOMAN. RICHARD’S other credits include the movies Stanley Kubrick’s The Paths of Glory, Forbidden Planet, Curse of the Faceless Man and television series such as Boris Karloff’s Thriller, The Green Hornet, Land of the Giants, The Rifleman and many others.

T.C. CARSON starred as the voice of “Mace Windu” in the animated series STAR WARS: CLONE WARS (2003-2005) and STAR WARS: THE CLONE WARS (2008-2013) and as the voice of “Kratos” in the GOD OF WAR Video Game series. T.C. is also known for starring as “Kyle Baker” in the television series Living Single.

The LOS ANGELES COMIC BOOK AND SCIENCE FICTION CONVENTION will take place SUNDAY, JUNE 23, 2013 at the Shrine Auditorium Expo Center, 700 West 32nd Street, in Los Angeles, across the street from USC College. Show Hours are 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. Regular Admission is only $10.00, five years and under are free. Early Admission is $12.00. The Dealers Room features over one hundred tables full of Old and New Comic Books, Toys, Action Figures, Trading Cards, Trade Paperbacks, Graphic Novels, DVDs, Movie Memorabilia and many other collectibles! All celebrity guests charge for each autograph but it includes a choice of photo. Check for more information!

SDCC Announces 2nd Wave of Special Guests for 2011

Grant Morrison

Press Release:

More Special Guests Announced for Comic-Con 2011

Jones, Kenyon, Morrison, and Steranko added to San Diego Event

San Diego – Comic-Con International: San Diego (Comic-Con), the largest comic book convention of its kind in the world, has announced two dozen additional special guests for this year’s convention. Artist Joëlle Jones, author Sherrilyn Kenyon, writer Grant Morrison, and writer/artist/publisher Jim Steranko join 20 fellow comics creators who have recently committed for Comic-Con 2011 in San Diego.

The first wave of 20 special guests was announced by Comic-Con in October of last year.

“We received great feedback from comics fans with our initial announcement,” said David Glanzer, Comic-Con’s director of marketing and public relations. “The addition of more special guests to an already stellar roster showcasing the best in the comics community is something our attendees have come to expect.”

Comic-Con 2011 will be held July 21-24 at the San Diego Convention Center. Passes to the show’s Preview Night on July 20 were sold out during this summer’s 2010 convention, although more four-day passes with Preview Night may be released closer to the show, depending on returns or cancellations. While there is still no specific date for the opening of general registration, Comic-Con expects it to occur before the end of January.

For the running list of 2011 special guests visit

Following are the 24 new guests confirmed with today’s announcement:

Sergio Aragonés (cartoonist, Groo, MAD magazine)

Ed Benes (artist, Justice League of America, Birds of Prey)

Anina Bennett (writer/editor, Heartbreakers, Boilerplate)

Yves “Balak” Bigerel (French writer/artist, Lord of Burger)

Chester Brown (writer/artist, Yummy Fur, Louis Riel, Paying for It)

Ernie Chan (artist, Conan, Batman, Jonah Hex)

Jo Chen (artist, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Runaways, Xbox Fable)

Seymour Chwast (illustrator, graphic designer)

Dick DeBartolo (writer, MAD magazine)

Tony DeZuniga (artist, Jonah Hex, Conan the Barbarian)

Eric Drooker (painter, graphic novelist, Flood, Blood Song, Howl)

Mark Evanier (writer, comics historian, Kirby: King of Comics)

Joyce Farmer (cartoonist, Wimmen’s Comix, Special Exits)

Paul Guinan (artist, Heartbreakers, Boilerplate)

Joëlle Jones (artist, You Have Killed Me, Troublemaker)

Sherrilyn Kenyon (author, Dark-Hunter series, Lords of Avalon series)

Richard A. and Patricia Lupoff (writers, fanzine pioneers)

Patrick McDonnell (cartoonist, Mutts)

Grant Morrison (writer, All Star Superman, Batman Incorporated)

Alex Niño (artist, Conan, Heavy Metal, God the Dyslexic Dog)

Steranko (writer/artist/publisher, Nick Fury Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., Prevue)

Cameron Stewart (artist, Seaguy, Seven Soldiers; writer/artist, Sin Titulo)

Dave Stewart (award-winning colorist)

About Comic-Con International:
Comic-Con International: San Diego (Comic-Con), the largest comic book convention of its kind in the world, is a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of, and appreciation for, comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contribution of comics to art and culture. In addition to its San Diego convention each summer, Comic-Con organizes the San Francisco-based WonderCon each spring and the Alternative Press Expo each fall. On the web:,,