OR – Lifeformed: Cleo Makes Contact Launch Party

Press Release:

Bridge City Comics is excited to announce our release party for Lifeformed: Cleo Makes Contact on Wednesday, September 6, 2017 from 6pm to 8pm, with Portland locals Matt Mair Lowery (Lifeformed writer) and Cassie Anderson (Lifeformed artist)! This event is free to the public.

Matt and Cassie will be signing copies of Lifeformed, their first graphic novel for Dark Horse Comics! We will have copies available for purchase ($12.99), sketches are at the discretion of the artist. Refreshments will be served free of charge.

Come help us celebrate the debut of this awesome new young adult sci-fi series!

About LIFEFORMED TP CLEO MAKES CONTACT:
In the wake of an alien invasion-and her father’s death-a young girl must fight for the future of Earth. Aided by a shape-shifting rebel alien posing as her father, the unlikely pair bond, fight back, and ponder what it means to be human. The powers of choice, courage, and unity are examined in Lifeformed: Cleo Makes Contact, an unforgettable debut work from creators Matt Mair Lowery and Cassie Anderson.

RSVP on Facebook!

Bridge City Comics
3725 N Mississippi Ave, Portland, Oregon 97227
(503) 282-5484

12th Doctor Who Appears at Rose City Comic Con 2017

Press Release:

Peter Capaldi, the 12th actor to portray sci-fi character Doctor Who in the popular TV series of the same name, will be a special guest at Rose City Comic Con 2017! VIP badges available now, autographs and photo ops coming soon.

Known to fans worldwide as the 12th Doctor, Peter Capaldi was born in Glasgow, Scotland. He started acting and singing at an early age and soon landed a lead role in the humorous vampire tale The Lair of the White Worm, co-starring Hugh Grant, and a supporting role in Dangerous Liaisons. He then went on to write and direct the 1993 short film Franz Kafka’s It’s a Wonderful Life, which won a BAFTA Award and an Academy Award in the Short Film (Live Action) category. Capaldi worked on several BBC projects for over a decade before portraying abrasive communications director Malcolm Tucker in the Armando Iannucci political sitcom The Thick of It, for which he won another BAFTA and was spun off into the film In the Loop. He has since starred in movies like World War ZThe Fifth Estate, and the upcoming children’s sequel Paddington 2. During a BBC live broadcast, it was announced that Capaldi would be the 12th actor to portray sci-fi character Doctor Who in the popular TV series of the same name. Capaldi, who kept his casting top secret, had appeared in the time-hopping show before, as a Roman merchant, as well as in its spin-off Torchwood. He portrayed The Doctor from 2013 to 2017, having recently announced that the upcoming season would be his last in the role.

He joins other great guests at Rose City Comic Con 2017, such as “Weird Al” Yankovic, Felicia Day, Dominic Cooper, Karl Urban, Katee Sackhoff, Brent Spiner, Jason Isaacs, Burt Ward, and dozens more. See our full list of guests so far, and be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to get all the latest news.

For further details, please visit the Rose City Comic Con website: www.rosecitycomiccon.com

OR – Sleeping Beauties Presentation

Press Release:

STEPHEN KING & OWEN KING, Father and Son Co-authors of SLEEPING BEAUTIES: A Novel appear at the Newmark Theatre on Tuesday, October 3, 2017 at 7:30 PM. Presented by Powell’s Books. Tickets on sale Monday, August 14, 2017, 10 a.m.

Stephen King is the author of more than 50 books, all of them worldwide bestsellers. His son, Owen King, is the author of the novel Double Feature and co-editor of Who Can Save Us Now?: Brand-New Superheroes and Their Amazing (Short) Stories. Now, in Sleeping Beauties, they combine their literary powers to tell the highest of high-stakes stories: what might happen if women disappeared from the world of men?

In a future so real and near it might be now, something happens when women go to sleep; they become shrouded in a cocoon-like gauze. If they are awakened, if the gauze wrapping their bodies is disturbed or violated, the women become feral and spectacularly violent; and while they sleep they go to another place… The men of our world are abandoned, left to their increasingly primal devices. One woman, however, the mysterious Evie, is immune to the blessing or curse of the sleeping disease. Is Evie a medical anomaly to be studied? Or is she a demon who must be slain? Set in a small Appalachian town whose primary employer is a women’s prison, Sleeping Beauties is a wildly provocative, gloriously absorbing father/son collaboration between Stephen King and Owen King.

Each ticket guarantees entry to the event, as well as one hardcover edition of Sleeping Beauties. As a special bonus, up to 400 of these books will be pre-signed and randomly distributed to lucky attendees at the event’s conclusion. This event will feature Stephen and Owen King in conversation and will be followed by an audience Q&A. There will not be a public signing at this event.

Newmark Theatre
1111 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205
(503) 248-4335

OR – My Pretty Vampire Signing

Cartoonist Katie Skelly appears at Floating World Comics for a book release party and signing on Thursday August 24th from 6:00 to 8:00 PM.

Clover is a Bardot-esque blonde who dreams of the (now dead) girl she once was before becoming a fanged bloodsucker. She is being kept prisoner by her brother, Marcel, who fears Clover will be hunted by the outside world. Clover’s curiosity, however, will not be suppressed: impetuous, sensual, strong-willed, and fearless, she plans her escape. Katie Skelly will be in store signing copies!

Katie Skelly is a cartoonist who lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. Her previous comics include Nurse Nurse, and Operation Margarine. My Pretty Vampire is a sexy, sophisticated horror romp that heralds author Katie Skelly as a powerful voice in comics.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Arm Eyes Art Show

Press Release:

Sequential Art Gallery + Studio is proud to present local artist RON CHAN, and his exhibit “ARM EYES”, a collection of his original art, prints, and a new series of watercolors focused on Yang Ren, an obscure character from Chinese folklore . The exhibition begins with an artist’s reception on Thursday, August 3rd from 6pm-10pm on opening night, and will be available for viewing throughout August.

Ron Chan was born and raised in Portland, OR and works as a freelance cartoonist, storyboard artist, and illustrator. He graduated from the Savannah College of Art and Design in 2005, and his comics work has been published by Dark Horse, Marvel, and Image Comics. He is best known for drawing Plants vs Zombies comics for Dark Horse.

CHAN: “While I was on a trip to Chicago, I stopped in to the famous Field Museum of Natural History, known best for Sue, the most complete and best preserved T-Rex skeleton yet discovered. While Sue was surely a sight to be seen, what truly caught my eye was much smaller: It was a mask of a Chinese man, with arms sprouting from his eye sockets, and then eyes on the palms of those arms. His name was Yang Ren. He came from the Chinese story Investiture of the Gods, and I knew from the moment I saw him, that I couldn’t allow myself to not draw him. Without any real direction, or guidelines, I drew nine drawings of Yang Ren. Needless to say, things got weird.”

“ARM EYES” will be on display the entire month of August. The gallery is open for viewing Mondays 2pm-6pm, Saturdays 11am-5pm, and by appointment. The exhibit closes on Saturday, September 2nd, at the end of business.

RSVP on Facebook!

Sequential Art Gallery + Studio
328 NW Broadway, Apt 113, Portland, Oregon 97209
(503) 916-9293

OR – Lazarus X+66 #2 Signing

Writer Aaron Duran appears at Bridge City Comics on Saturday, August 26th at 6:00 PM.

Duran will be signing copies of Lazarus X+66 #2 (his debut comic with Image Comics) as well as copies of The Forgotten Tyrs Volume 2: Rise of the First City, the second volume in his Grizzlydale young adult novel series. Copies of both will be available for purchase (as well as copies of his first Forgotten Tyrs novel). This signing is all ages and refreshments will be provided for free!

RSVP on Facebook!

Bridge City Comics
3725 N Mississippi Ave, Portland, Oregon 97227
(503) 282-5484

OR – 100 Demon Dialogues Closing Party

Cartoonist Lucy Bellwood, creator of Baggywrinkles, appears at Base Camp Brewing Company on Monday, July 31st at 8:00 PM to celebrate the last couple hours of the 100 Demon Dialogues Kickstarter.

RSVP on Facebook!

Base Camp Brewing Company
930 SE Oak Street, Portland, Oregon 97214
(503) 477-7479

OR – Mr. Colostomy Signing + Ambergris Performance

Matt Thurber (aka Mr. Colostomy, aka Ambergris) appears at Floating World Comics for a comic signing and Ambergris performance on Friday July 21, signing at 6:00 PM, performance at 7:00 PM.

Ambergris is Thurber’s long running and indefinable investigation into musical performance, storytelling, and theater. Tonight Ambergris will be a 2-piece including Thurber’s longtime collaborator, Tom Phillips. For fans of Gilbert and Sullivan, Cole Porter, Sun City Girls, and Depeche Mode.

Matthew Thurber is a cartoonist, musician, filmmaker, and multimedia artist. Thurber was born in Washington State and has lived in New York City since 1996. His graphic novels 1-800-MICE and INFOMANIACS were published by PictureBox in 2011 and 2013. The recipient of a 2010 NYFA fiction fellowship, Thurber has created comics and illustrations for numerous anthologies and magazines such as Kramers Ergot, the Believer, the New York Times, Mould Map, the Ganzfeld, and Paper Rodeo. His artwork has been displayed at Southfirst Gallery, the Fumetto Festival in Switzerland, and at Weird Things in Toronto.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

OR – Superb #1 Signing

Writer David F. Walker (Power Man & Iron Fist, Cyborg, Nighthawk, Shaft) appears at Bridge City Comics on Saturday, August 5th from noon till 2:00 PM to sign SUPERB #1, the new title of Lion Forge Comics’ Catalyst Prime line!

RSVP on Facebook!

Bridge City Comics
3725 N Mississippi Ave, Portland, Oregon 97227
(503) 282-5484

OR – One More Year Launch Party

Press Release:

Floating World Comics is proud to host a release party and live performance with Simon Hanselmann on Thursday, August 3rd at 6:00 PM to celebrate the release of his new book One More Year. We will also co-publish a new broadsheet newspaper featuring Simon’s latest paintings which will exclusively debut at this event.

As a genderqueer immigrant living in Trump’s America, Simon Hanselmann has a lot to say about making controversial social commentary art in our current political climate. More than his previous two New York Times bestselling graphic novels, One More Year dives deeper into body dysmorphia, transphobia, mental illness, and addiction.

Megg the witch, Mogg the cat, and their friends Owl and Werewolf Jones are imbued with far more pathos and depth than seems plausible given the stock comic premise — drugged-out, slacker roommates. Depressing, hilarious, endlessly relatable, and exceedingly human — despite being about a witch, a cat, and an anthropomorphic owl — One More Year continues to give more substance to the characters and personalities of its protagonists in ways that never fail to surprise, delight, and horrify.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

« Previous PageNext Page »