ComicCard Comic Convention (September 2017)

ComicCard Comic Convention

Convention Name
ComicCard Comic Convention
Convention Website Address
http://www.comiccard.net/
This convention will take place:
  • for one day only.
Date (Format mm/dd/yyyy)
09/16/2017
About This Convention
Comic convention featuring artists and writers Tim Seeley, Keith Champagne, Tom Nguyen and Frank Fosco. Our vendors will have thousands of comic books (golden and silver age to modern), Funko POP! figures, vintage action figures and pop culture collectibles.

Show runs 10:00 AM – 4:30 PM.
Special anniversary $3 admission (kids under 16 free).
Onsite ATM and restaurant!

Venue Name and Address
311 W. 84th St
Bloomington, MN 55420
United States
Map It
Please select the Category that best describes the convention
Comic Books
Additional Categories
  • Gaming
  • Collectibles
Guests
Tim Seeley, Keith Champagne, Tom Nguyen, Frank Fosco

Mid-Summer Comic Con (July 2017)

Mid-summer Comic Convention

Convention Name
Mid-Summer Comic Con
Convention Website Address
https://www.facebook.com/events/662872100565184/
This convention will take place:
  • for one day only.
Date (Format mm/dd/yyyy)
07/15/2017
About This Convention
A one-day convention featuring thousands of comic books, action figures and gaming cards. Artists appearing include Christopher Jones and Erik Burnham.
Venue Name and Address
6501 Portland Ave
Richfield, MN 55423
United States
Map It
Number of Dealer/Exhibitor Tables
25
Projected Attendance
500
Please select the Category that best describes the convention
Comic Books
Additional Categories
  • Gaming
  • Collectibles
Guests
Christopher Jones, Erik Burnham

Mid-Summer

MN – Asian America in Graphic Novels: An Evening with Gene Luen Yang

Award-winning Graphic Novelist GENE LUEN YANG appears at the Jeanne d’Arc Auditorium in Whitby Hall on Wednesday, July 12, 2017 at 6:30 PM.

GENE LUEN YANG began making comics and graphic novels in the fifth grade. In 2006 First Second Books published American Born Chinese, which became the first graphic novel to be nominated for a National Book Award and the first to win the American Library Association’s Printz Award. It also won an Eisner Award for Best Graphic Album.

In 2013, First Second Books released Boxers & Saints, Yang’s two-volume graphic novel about the Boxer Rebellion. Nominated for a National Book Award, this book also won the L.A. Times Book Prize.

Gene Yang has created a number of other comics, including Dark Horse Comics’ continuation of the popular Nickelodeon cartoon Avatar: The Last Airbender and DC Comics’ Superman! In addition to cartooning, he teaches creative writing through Hamline University’s MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults, teaching alongside amazing authors like Anne Ursu, Gary Schmidt, Laura Ruby, Matt De La Pena, to name a few.

In January 2016, the Library of Congress, Every Child A Reader, and the Children’s Book Council appointed Gene Luen Yang the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature.

Co-hosted by the St. Catherine University – MLIS Program, St. Kate’s Library, Friends of the Libraries, Education Department, St. Catherine University MIPS Office, St. Kate’s ALA Student Chapter, Progressive Librarians Guild, Student Governance Organization, Endowed Mission Chairs, and Addendum Books.

RSVP on Facebook!

St. Catherine University
2004 Randolph Ave., St. Paul, MN 55105

MN – Kevin Hart Appearance

Comedian Kevin Hart appears at the Mall of America on Sunday, June 11th at 1:00 PM.

Press Release:

From comedian, to movie star to now, a book author, Kevin Hart is stopping by to sign copies of his newest book “I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons.” Kevin Hart turns his immense talent to the written word by writing some words. Some of those words include: the, a, for, above, and even even. Put them together and you have the funniest, most heartfelt, and most inspirational memoir on survival, success, and the importance of believing in yourself since Old Yeller. The question you’re probably asking yourself right now is: What does Kevin Hart have that a book also has? Grab a friend and come find out the answer. Hope to see you there!

RSVP on Facebook!

Mall of America
118 E. Broadway Suite 238, Bloomington, MN 55425
952-854-1455

MN – Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body Signing

Author Roxane Gay presents her latest book at Magers and Quinn Booksellers on Thursday, June 15, 2017 at 7:00 PM.

Roxane Gay is the author of the novel An Untamed State, which was a finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction; the essay collection Bad Feminist; and Ayiti, a multi-genre collection. She is at work on a memoir, Hunger, and a comic book in Marvel’s Black Panther series. Her writing has appeared in Best American Short Stories 2012the New York Timesthe Guardian, and many others. She is a recipient of the PEN Center USA Freedom to Write Award, among other honors. She splits her time between Indiana and Los Angeles. She can be found online at www.roxanegay.com and on Twitter @rgay.

RSVP on Facebook!

Magers and Quinn Booksellers
3038 Hennepin Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55408
tel: 612.822.4611

MN – Infinite Tinder Signing

Conrad Teves, creator of Infinite Tinder, signs at Hot Comics in Richfield on Wednesday June 21, 2017 from 4:00 – 8:00 PM.

Hot Comics & Collectibles
6609 Nicollet Ave S, Richfield MN 55423
612.798.3936

MN – Evil Witch Allie Signing

Kristin Tipping, creator of Evil Witch Allie, signs at Hot Comics in New Hope on Wednesday, June 14, 2017 from 3:00 – 8:00 PM!

Hot Comics and Collectibles New Hope
3524 Winnetka Ave N. New Hope, MN 55427

MN – Fierce Reads 2017 Signing

The Fierce Reads tour stops in St. Paul this spring with Scott Westerfeld, Taran Matharu, Kristen Orlando, and Erin Beaty on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 7:00 PM. Join Red Balloon’s booksellers for a fierce panel discussion about books, writing, stories, and more. Mingle with other YA fans, enjoy refreshments, enter the raffle to win great giveaways, make a souvenir button, and get your books signed.

  • Erin Beaty, author of The Traitor’s Kiss, an action packed debut that is Jane Austen with an espionage twist.
  • Taran Matharu, author of The Battlemage, book three in the New York Times bestselling Summoner Series.
  • Kristen Orlando, debut author of You Don’t Know My Name, the captivating and emotional page-turner about spies and making choices.
  • Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of the Uglies series, debuting his first graphic novel Spill Zone about a mysterious radioactive spill and the girl who is dedicated to finding out what happened.

WHAT TO EXPECT

  • A panel discussion with authors Scott Westerfeld, Taran Matharu, Kristen Orlando, and Erin Beatty beginning at 7:00pm, followed by Q&A and book signing.
  • Signing will begin around 7:45pm. Refreshments and activities will happen while you wait.
  • The signing line may take a long time. The sooner you purchase your book, the better your ticket number will be. Unless you have the first ticket, don’t plan to be done at a certain time.
  • In addition to your purchase from Red Balloon each author will sign up to 3 books brought from home and an unlimited number of books purchased at the event.
  • Due to time restrictions, photos in the signing line may be limited to “unposed” photos only. A Red Balloon bookseller or volunteer will be on hand to help take your photo.

RSVP on Facebook!

Red Balloon Bookshop
891 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105
651-224-8320

MN – Real Friends Signing

Press Release:

Newbery Award honoree and kid-lit rockstar Shannon Hale is bringing her new graphic memoir, Real Friends, to St. Paul on Sunday, May 7, 2017 at 3:00 PM! Illustrated by the amazing LeUyen Pham, Real Friends relates the ups and downs of finding and keeping friends, and is great for fans of Smile and Sunnyside Up. After Shannon Hale’s talk, you can grab a souvenir poster, draw your own comic panel, and get your books signed.

TICKETS – This event is free and open to the public. Tickets are not required, but you may reserve your place in the signing line by purchasing Real Friends by Shannon Hale from Red Balloon Bookshop. Books may be purchased in store, online, or over the phone by calling 651-224-8320.

Books and advance signing tickets may be picked up Tuesday, May 2 (the book’s release date) through the date of the event.

RSVP on Facebook!

Red Balloon Bookshop
891 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105
651-224-8320

MN – The Amory Wars Signing

Press Release:

Source Comics & Games is excited to announce that Claudio Sanchez, of the band Coheed and Cambria, will be signing in the store on Saturday May 13th from 2:00 – 3:00 PM. The band is on a national tour and will be playing a show at First Avenue later that night.

The signing is free, and at the request of our guests there will be a two item limit, of only Claudio’s comic work. He will not be available for photos in order to keep the line moving. You’re welcome to bring comics from home to have signed, but we will have issues #1 and #2 of the newest chapter in the AMORY WARS while supplies last. In addition to those two issues, we’ll also have some variant covers and the previous trade paperbacks in the series all available for purchase.

RSVP on Facebook!

Source Comics & Games
2057 Snelling Ave North, Roseville, MN 55113
651-645-0386

Next Page »