MN – Fierce Reads 2017 Signing

The Fierce Reads tour stops in St. Paul this spring with Scott Westerfeld, Taran Matharu, Kristen Orlando, and Erin Beaty on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 at 7:00 PM. Join Red Balloon’s booksellers for a fierce panel discussion about books, writing, stories, and more. Mingle with other YA fans, enjoy refreshments, enter the raffle to win great giveaways, make a souvenir button, and get your books signed.

  • Erin Beaty, author of The Traitor’s Kiss, an action packed debut that is Jane Austen with an espionage twist.
  • Taran Matharu, author of The Battlemage, book three in the New York Times bestselling Summoner Series.
  • Kristen Orlando, debut author of You Don’t Know My Name, the captivating and emotional page-turner about spies and making choices.
  • Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of the Uglies series, debuting his first graphic novel Spill Zone about a mysterious radioactive spill and the girl who is dedicated to finding out what happened.

WHAT TO EXPECT

  • A panel discussion with authors Scott Westerfeld, Taran Matharu, Kristen Orlando, and Erin Beatty beginning at 7:00pm, followed by Q&A and book signing.
  • Signing will begin around 7:45pm. Refreshments and activities will happen while you wait.
  • The signing line may take a long time. The sooner you purchase your book, the better your ticket number will be. Unless you have the first ticket, don’t plan to be done at a certain time.
  • In addition to your purchase from Red Balloon each author will sign up to 3 books brought from home and an unlimited number of books purchased at the event.
  • Due to time restrictions, photos in the signing line may be limited to “unposed” photos only. A Red Balloon bookseller or volunteer will be on hand to help take your photo.

RSVP on Facebook!

Red Balloon Bookshop
891 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105
651-224-8320

MN – Real Friends Signing

Press Release:

Newbery Award honoree and kid-lit rockstar Shannon Hale is bringing her new graphic memoir, Real Friends, to St. Paul on Sunday, May 7, 2017 at 3:00 PM! Illustrated by the amazing LeUyen Pham, Real Friends relates the ups and downs of finding and keeping friends, and is great for fans of Smile and Sunnyside Up. After Shannon Hale’s talk, you can grab a souvenir poster, draw your own comic panel, and get your books signed.

TICKETS – This event is free and open to the public. Tickets are not required, but you may reserve your place in the signing line by purchasing Real Friends by Shannon Hale from Red Balloon Bookshop. Books may be purchased in store, online, or over the phone by calling 651-224-8320.

Books and advance signing tickets may be picked up Tuesday, May 2 (the book’s release date) through the date of the event.

RSVP on Facebook!

Red Balloon Bookshop
891 Grand Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105
651-224-8320

MN – The Amory Wars Signing

Press Release:

Source Comics & Games is excited to announce that Claudio Sanchez, of the band Coheed and Cambria, will be signing in the store on Saturday May 13th from 2:00 – 3:00 PM. The band is on a national tour and will be playing a show at First Avenue later that night.

The signing is free, and at the request of our guests there will be a two item limit, of only Claudio’s comic work. He will not be available for photos in order to keep the line moving. You’re welcome to bring comics from home to have signed, but we will have issues #1 and #2 of the newest chapter in the AMORY WARS while supplies last. In addition to those two issues, we’ll also have some variant covers and the previous trade paperbacks in the series all available for purchase.

RSVP on Facebook!

Source Comics & Games
2057 Snelling Ave North, Roseville, MN 55113
651-645-0386

MN – Pearls Hogs the Road Tour

Cartoonist Stephan Pastis, creator of the comic strip Pearls Before Swine, appears at Magers and Quinn Booksellers on Wednesday, April 26, 2017 at 7:00 PM to celebrate the release of the newest Pearls treasury. Pastis promises to disclose all his vices, overshare, and tell you all you want to know about Pearls Before Swine. Sit back in astonishment and horror and enjoy some of the most popular (and least popular) Pearls strips from the past few years. And as if that’s not enough of a draw (oh, look, a pun!), Pastis will also be signing copies of his newest treasury, Pearls Hogs the Road.

RSVP on Facebook!

Magers and Quinn Booksellers
3038 Hennepin Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55408
tel: 612.822.4611

MN – Animaniacs LIVE

Press Release:

ANIMANIACS LIVE! in Concert is coming to the Ordway on Sunday April 9, 2017 at 5:00 PM! Randy Rogel, Emmy-winning composer of the original 1992-1998 show, teams up with Emmy-winner (1998, Pinky and the Brain) Rob Paulsen (Yakko Warner) to sing an evening of songs from the hit show. Clips from the series, and anecdotes from Rogel and Paulsen will run in between songs such as “Yakko’s World” and “Variety Speak.” If you are a fan who has been aching for something new pertaining to Animaniacs, this is your time! And whether you love live music, animation, or the original show, ANIMANIACS LIVE! is an experience you don’t want to miss.

Ordway Center for the Performing Arts
345 Washington St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
(651) 224-4222

MN – Thrill Me Signing

Author Benjamin Percy appears at the Dock Cafe on Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at 4:30 PM for the event series Between the Covers Happy Hour.

About this author:
Benjamin Percy is the author of The Language of Elk and Refresh, Refresh. He has been awarded the Plimpton Prize and a Whiting Writers’ Award, and has been included in Best American Short Stories. He teaches at Iowa State University. He currently writes the comic book titles Teen Titans, Green Arrow, and James Bond.

Dock Cafe
425 Nelson St E Stillwater, MN 55082

MN – Wolf of the Tesseract Signing

Author Christopher D. Schmitz appears at the Har Mar Barnes & Noble location on Saturday, March 4, 2017 at 2:00 PM to present and sign his newest book, Wolf of the Tesseract.

About the book:
In a world underneath our own reality, magic & science are two sides of the same coin. After merging with her copy from an alternate reality, college student Claire Jones is thrust into a setting beyond imagine and must fight alongside Zabe, an inter-dimensional guardian. Together they must stop an evil warlock from shattering the laws of existence who, above all else, seeks Claire’s blood as the key to controlling the all-powerful Tesseract.

As they flee his wrath, Claire must decide what her romantic feelings for her protector mean… apocalypse-bringing sorcerers aside, Claire’s mission is to rescue the woman Zabe loves… even if Claire has likewise fallen for the selfless soldier.

RSVP on Facebook!

Barnes & Noble – HarMar Mall
2100 North Snelling Ave, Roseville, MN 55113
651-639-9256

MN – Indy Spotlight Signing

000-cmeath-mn

Artist Clara Meath signs at Hot Comics on Wednesday, November 16th from 4:00 – 7:00 PM!

RSVP on Facebook!

Hot Comics and Collectibles
6609 Nicollet Ave, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55423
(612) 798-3936

MN – Star Wars: Destiny Launch Party

000-starwarsdestiny

Game designer Lukas Litzsinger, comic book author Mark Waid, and acclaimed novelist Timothy Zahn appear at Fantasy Flight Games on Friday, November 11th at 5:00 PM to celebrate the launch of STAR WARS: DESTINY!

RSVP on Facebook!

Fantasy Flight Games
1975 County Road B2 W, Roseville, MN 55113-2705

MN – Moonglow Signing

000-moonglow-chabon

Author Michael Chabon signs his new novel MOONGLOW at Barnes & Noble on Saturday December 3, 2016 at 3:00 PM.

About this author:
Michael Chabon is the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay — an epic novel that charts 16 years in the lives of Sammy Clay and Joe Kavalier, two Jewish cousins who create a popular series of comic books in the early 1940s, the years leading up to the U.S. entry into World War II. In addition to novels, including the now-classic Wonder Boys, Chabon has also produced short stories, screenplays, children’s books, comics, and newspaper serials.

Barnes & Noble
3230 Galleria, Edina, MN 55435

Next Page »