Plastic City Comic Con (April 2018)

Plastic City Comic Con Logo

Convention Name
Plastic City Comic Con
Convention Website Address
http://www.plasticcitycomiccon.com/
This convention will take place:
  • for one day only.
Date (Format mm/dd/yyyy)
04/21/2018
About This Convention
$5 Admission and Kids 12 and under Admission is Free! Bring the family down and share our love of comic books with celebrity creators, local talent, comic retailers, and vendors!

Plastic City Comic Con is the premier event for comics, toys and pop culture fans in North Central Massachusetts! We have the lowest admission price in the Tri-State area!

Saturday April 21, 2018 || 10AM – 6PM
Wallace Civic Center — 1000 John Fitch Highway, Fitchburg, MA 01420

Jam packed with comic artists, writers, creators and comic celebrities!

Venue Name and Address
Wallace Civic Center
1000 John Fitch Highway
Fitchburg, MA 01453
United States
Map It
Number of Dealer/Exhibitor Tables
125
Projected Attendance
3,000
Please select the Category that best describes the convention
Comic Books
Additional Categories
  • Anime
  • Gaming
  • Horror
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy
  • Collectibles
Guests
TBA

Plastic City Flyer

MA – Children’s Authors Group Signing

Lisa Yee, Jane Yolen, Natasha Lowe, Jeff Mack, and Heidi Stemple appear at Odyssey Bookshop for a signing on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 5:00 PM!

RSVP on Facebook!

Odyssey Bookshop
9 College Street, South Hadley, MA 01075
(413) 534-7307

MA – WWE’s Natalya Signing

WWE Superstar Natalya will be at The Pru on Sunday, December 17, 2017 at 11:00 AM to meet fans and sign copies of the book WWE Absolutely Everything You Need To Know.

Fans must purchase a copy of WWE Absolutely Everything You Need To Know before getting on line. Anyone on line must have a wristband. Space is limited.

RSVP on Facebook!

Barnes & Noble – Prudential Center
800 Boylston Street Suite 179, Boston, MA 02199
617-247-6959

MA – Cartoon County: John Cullen Murphy + His Friends Signing

Cullen Murphy appears at the Norman Rockwell Museum on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 2:00 PM.

Join Cullen Murphy for this fascinating look back at the art of his father, John Cullen Murphy, and the many illustrators and cartoonists who resided in southwestern Connecticut, “a bit of bohemia in the middle of those men in their gray flannel suits.” Cullen Murphy’s father, John Cullen Murphy, drew the popular comic strips Prince Valiant and Big Ben Bolt—at the heart of this artistic milieu, he even received training from Norman Rockwell. Comic strips and gag cartoons read by hundreds of millions were created in this tight-knit group—Superman, Beetle Bailey, Snuffy Smith, Rip Kirby, Hagar the Horrible, Hi and Lois, Nancy, Sam & Silo, Amy, The Wizard of Id, The Heart of Juliet Jones, Family Circus, Joe Palooka, and The Lockhorns. Illustrated with never-before-seen photographs, cartoons, and drawings, Cartoon County is sure to delight. A book signing will follow the program. Free for Museum members, or included with Museum admission. Children free to age 18.

RSVP on Facebook!

Norman Rockwell Museum
9 Route 183, Stockbridge, MA 01262
413-298-4100

MA – Deck the Hall with Craig 2017

Artist Craig Rousseau (Kyrra: Alien Jungle Girl, The Perhapanauts, Impulse, Batman Beyond) appears at The Hall of Comics on Saturday December 9, 2017 from 11:00 AM till 3:00 PM! Craig will generously be doing sketches on request in exchange for charitable donations.

RSVP on Facebook!

The Hall of Comics
3 Turnpike Rd, Southborough, MA 01772
(508) 485-1300

MA – The Fog Screening

Actress Adrienne Barbeau appears at the Coolidge Corner Theatre on Saturday, December 2, 2017 at 11:59 PM to host a screening of THE FOG!

The Coolidge Corner Theatre is proud to honor actor Adrienne Barbeau by presenting her with our second Coolidge After Midnite Award, recognizing her outstanding work in some of the greatest genre films ever made!

Adrienne has provided a few of the most iconic performances in the history of horror, action, and science fiction, working with such legendary filmmakers as John Carpenter, Wes Craven, and George A. Romero. While her films feature ghosts, grotesque creatures, and ghouls from beyond the grave, it’s Adrienne’s humanity that leaves a lasting impression and continues to speak to new audiences decades later.

RSVP on Facebook!

Coolidge Corner Theatre
290 Harvard Street, Brookline, MA 02446-2908
617-566-6660

2nd Annual South Shore Comic Con

Press Release:

South Shore Art Center presents its second South Shore Comic Con! Featuring over 25 comic artists, signing and selling their zines, original art, and talking about the craft of comic book storytelling. Panels and workshops will be in the art studios throughout the day. Costumes encouraged!

Artists include: E. J. Barnes, Beth Barnett, LB Cassell, Jimmy Curtis, Griffin Ess, Mike Doherty, Krystal Dube, Jerel Dye, Barrington Edwards/Studio Vexer, Raul Gonzalez, Brian Hall, Ludgy Jean-Baptiste, Richard Keenan, Daniel Kern, Cathy Leamy, Jesse Lonergan, Kyri Lorenz, Cagen Luse, Donna Martinez, Tony McMillen, James Mobius, Dave Ortega, Joey Peters, Ryan Sullivan, Crispin Wood

Open to the public, suggested donation of $5.

RSVP on Facebook!

South Shore Art Center
119 Ripley Rd, Cohasset, Massachusetts 02025
(781) 383-2787

MA – All’s Faire in Middle School Signing

Victoria Jamieson appears in conversation with Jeff Kinney (creator of Diary of a Wimpy Kid) at An Unlikely Story on Tuesday, November 28, 2017 at 5:00 PM to introduce her new graphic novel, ALL’S FAIRE IN MIDDLE SCHOOL! Following her presentation, there will be a Q & A with Victoria and Jeff, then a book signing.

ABOUT THE BOOK:
From the author of the Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl, a heartwarming graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving your embarrassing family, and life at the Renaissance Faire that’s perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Eleven-year-old Imogene (Impy) has grown up with two parents working at the Renaissance Faire, and she’s eager to begin her own training as a squire. First, though, she’ll need to prove her bravery. Luckily Impy has just the quest in mind—she’ll go to public school after a life of being homeschooled! But it’s not easy to act like a noble knight-in-training in middle school. Impy falls in with a group of girls who seem really nice…until they don’t. For the first time, she’s embarrassed of her thrift shop apparel, her family’s unusual lifestyle, and their small, messy apartment. And when her new friends encourage her to do something mean, Impy goes along with it. Before long, Impy doesn’t even recognize herself. Is she the dragon in her own story or the heroic knight?

As she did in Roller Girl, Victoria Jamieson perfectly -and authentically—captures the bittersweetness of middle school life with humor, warmth, and understanding.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Victoria Jamieson is the creator of the Newbery Honor winner Roller Girl. She received her BFA in illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and worked as a children’s book designer before moving to Portland and becoming a freelance illustrator. She has also worked as a portrait artist aboard a cruise ship, and has lived in Australia, Italy, and Canada. She maintains a not-so-secret identity as Winnie the Pow, skater with the Rose City Rollers roller derby league and has a not-so-secret past as a Renaissance Faire groupie.

An Unlikely Story
111 South St, Plainville, MA 02762
(508) 699-0244

MA – Cartoon County Signing

Harvard Book Store welcomes author, Vanity Fair editor, and former The Atlantic editor Cullen Murphy on Tuesday, November 28th at 7:00 PM for a discussion of his latest book, CARTOON COUNTY: My Father and His Friends in the Golden Age of Make-Believe. This event is co-sponsored by Mass Humanities.

RSVP on Facebook!

Harvard Book Store
1256 Massachusetts Ave., Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 661-1515

MA – An Evening with Lynda Barry

Press Release:

Award-winning painter, cartoonist, writer, and illustrator Lynda Barry appears at Boston University on Thursday, November 8th at 5:00 PM to speak on creativity and the biological function of “the arts.”

Why do people wish they could write, sing, dance, and draw, long after they’ve given up on these things? Does creative activity have a biological function? There is something common to everything we call the arts. What is it? It’s something Lynda Barry calls ‘an image’, something that feels alive and is contained and transported by something that is not alive—a book, or a song or a painting—anything we call an ‘art form’. This ancient ‘it’ has been around at least as long as we have had hands, and the state of mind it brings about is not plain old ‘thinking’. This talk is about our innate creative ability to work with images and the biological function of this thing we call “the arts.” Please note: There will be swear words, party tricks, and jokes about balls.

Lynda Barry has worked as a painter, cartoonist, writer, illustrator, playwright, editor, commentator and teacher and found they are very much alike. The New York Times has described Barry as “among this country’s greatest conjoiners of words and images, known for plumbing all kinds of touchy subjects in cartoons, comic strips and novels, both graphic and illustrated.” Widely credited with expanding the literary, thematic and emotional range of American comics, Barry’s seminal comic strip, Ernie Pook’s Comeek, ran in alternative newspapers across North America for thirty years.

Lynda Barry will be delivering the annual Stanley P. Stone Distinguished Lecture. The Stanley P. Stone Distinguished Lecture Series brings notable, inspiring speakers to Boston University College of General Studies, inviting the CGS and BU community to broaden their educational experience related one of the College’s academic division areas: humanities, social science, natural sciences, or rhetoric. The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served.

RSVP on Facebook!

Boston University
871 Commonwealth Ave, Boston, MA 02215
(617) 353-2850

« Previous PageNext Page »