CA – Legend of Korra: Turf Wars Signing

Artist Irene Koh returns to Illusive Comics and Games on Wednesday, January 31st from 5:00 – 8:30 PM to sign the second volume of the LEGEND OF KORRA comic from Dark Horse! She will have prints available for purchase, as well. Cosplay is welcome.

RSVP on Facebook!

Illusive Comics and Games
1270 Franklin Mall, Santa Clara, CA 95050
408-985-7481

CA – An Evening with Danny Trejo

Actor Danny Trejo (Machete, Spy Kids, From Dusk Till Dawn) appears in conversation with Allison Anders at the Vista Theatre following a midnight screening of Mi Vida Loca and a handprint ceremony on Saturday, January 27, 2018.

RSVP on Facebook!

Vista Theatre
4473 Sunset Drive, Los Angeles, CA 90027

CA – The Artist Within Signing

Pop Secret Gallery welcomes Greg Preston and a huge cast of creatives showcased in both volumes of The Artist Within books on Friday, January 26th from 5:00 – 9:00 PM! Meet & greet and get your books signed by everyone in attendance!

Confirmed Guests include: Dave Willardson, Jeff Keane, Bill Sienkiewicz, Bill Morrison, Bobby London, Sharon Sampsel, Michael Dooley, Scott Gandell, Stan Sakai, Scott Shaw, Stephen Silver, Craig Elliott, Claire Keane, Dean Yeagle, Chris Bailey, Chad Frye, Jake Rowell, Chris Sanders, Kyle Lambert.

Also, The Society of Illustrators of Los Angeles’ Illustration West 56 Show is up for Preview Night – check out all the best of the best work in 10 categories from around the globe – without the opening night crowds!

RSVP on Facebook!

Pop Secret Gallery
5119 Eagle Rock Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041
(626) 262-3909

CA – Ventura Strong Signing

Bernard Chang, Howard Chaykin, Marc Andreyko, Dylan Campbell, Darrell May, and more appear at Hypno Comics & Games on Saturday, January 20, 2018 from noon till 5:00 PM for the shop’s benefit event! Free comics and swag from DC Comics, Marvel Comics, Boom Studios, and Dark Horse Comics. Live auction and more!

RSVP on Facebook!

Hypno Comics & Games
1803 E. Main Street, Ventura, CA 93001
(805) 651-9767

SF – Mech Cadet Yu Signing

Writer Greg Pak (PLANET HULK, WEAPON X) will be at Comix Experience on Sunday, February 11th, at 11:00 AM to sign his new all-ages comic MECH CADET YU! Perfect for fans of Pacific Rim and The Iron Giant, Mech Cadet Yu is filled with action, adventure, and heart, and we can’t wait to talk to Greg all about it at our Graphic Novel of the Month Kids’ Club meeting!

About MECH CADET YU: Once a year, giant robots from outer space come to Earth and bond with young cadets from the elite Sky Corps Academy to defend the world from the terrifying aliens known as the Sharg. It’s a great honor to be chosen, but this year…well, the wrong kid was picked.

RSVP on Facebook!

Comix Experience
305 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 863-9258

CA – PVP Signing

Cartoonist Scott Kurtz appears at the Charles M. Schulz Museum on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 1:00 PM. In addition to creating the popular webcomic, PVP, Kurtz has co-authored a book on making webcomics, co-created and produced several animated web series and launched a second ongoing webcomic, Table Titans.

RSVP on Facebook!

Charles M. Schulz Museum
2301 Hardies Lane, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 579-4452

CA – Martin Klebba Signing

Actor Martin Klebba (Pirates of the Caribbean, Scrubs, Ted) appears at Meltdown Comics for a signing on Saturday, February 10, 2018 from 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM. Prices: $20 Autographs; $10 Selfies

RSVP on Facebook!

Meltdown Comics
7522 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90046
323.851.7223

SF – SF Sketchfest: The Bat

Recorded live for Audible, join hosts Cole Stratton and Janet Varney alongside guest improvisers Scott Adsit, John Ross Bowie, Lucy Davis, and Gary Anthony Williams on Sunday January 21, 2018 at 8:00 PM as they create a world before your very ears where they’ll perform the entire thing in the dark! Characters, conflicts, sound effects and more will be vocally winged based upon your suggestions.

Presented as part of SF Sketchfest! It’s the city’s greatest comedy festival, with a variety of sketch and improv, film and television tributes and reunions, solo performers, podcasts and stand-up comedy performers. See the greatest names live and in person!

Get tickets at the link!

Gateway Theatre
215 Jackson Street San Francisco, CA 94111
415-255-8207

CA – Disney Animation Studios Artist Showcase Signing

Join award-winning Walt Disney Studios Animation talent Paul Briggs and Benson Shum at Skylight Books on Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 5:00 PM as they read from their picture books Catch My Breath and Holly’s Day at the Pool. Readers will also get treated to drawing activities by the two talents.

Paul Briggs has worked in the animation industry for twenty years and was fortunate to be the head of story on Disney’s Frozen and Big Hero 6, both of which received an Academy Award for Best Animated Feature Film. However, he’s most proud of his family: his wife, Christin, and their two sons, Luke and Leo. When he’s not working, Paul and his family can be found wandering the woods of California, looking for forest zombies to defeat, or engaging in epic dance battles– where they have to stop and catch their breaths. In the latest edition of the Walt Disney Animation Studios Artist Showcase series Catch My Breath, acclaimed animation talent Paul Briggs (Big Hero 6, Frozen, Zootopia) delivers a heartwarming and clever story about a boy who’s lost his breath: Losing it, trying to find it, even trying to buy it. But how he comes to get it back is sure to bring a smile to readers of all ages faces.

Benson Shum is an animator at the Walt Disney Animation Studios and has worked on films such as Frozen, Big Hero 6, Zootopia, and Moana. He was born and raised in Vancouver, BC, where he studied the art of animation at Capilano University and Sheridan College. He now lives in Burbank, CA. Based on his niece’s experience, Benson created a story about how Holly the Hippo overcame her fear of swimming. Holly is full of questions when it comes to swimming! “What if..” she always wonders, every time she almost dips her toe in the water. Read on how she overcomes her fear of stepping into the pool.

Skylight Books
1818 N. Vermont Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90027
323.660.1175

SF – Cartoon Art Museum Grand Opening Celebration

Press Release:

Join the Cartoon Art Museum on Saturday, January 20, 2018 as we celebrate our new location at 781 Beach Street, near Ghirardelli Square, Aquatic Park and the Cable Car Terminus.

Special guests Gary Amaro, Mark Badger, Lee Ballard, Nick Dragotta, Steve Purcell, Ben Seto, and Jon Way$hak appear for a signing from 6:00 – 7:00 PM to close the Tribute to Mike Mignola’s Hellboy exhibition, which concludes Monday, January 29th.

After a two-year hiatus, the museum is thrilled to be open to the public again with our first round of exhibitions:

A Tribute to Mike Mignola’s Hellboy (October 28, 2107 – January 29, 2018)

The Cartoon Art Museum pays tribute to creator Mike Mignola with an exhibition featuring original artwork from today’s top graphic novelists, animators, and cartoonists who have drawn inspiration from the master storyteller’s signature creation. Featured artists include Harry Bliss (The New Yorker), Jeffrey Brown (Darth Vader and Son), Cliff Chiang (Paper Girls), Sam Kieth (The Maxx), Patrick McDonnell (Mutts), Steve Purcell (Sam & Max), and Kent Williams (The Fountain), among others.

Smile! The Comics of Raina Telgemeier (October 28, 2107 – March 19, 2018)

Celebrate the comics of San Francisco native Raina Telgemeier including her highly popular autobiographical works Smile and Sisters, her award-winning graphic novels Drama and Ghosts, and her acclaimed adaptations of Ann M. Martin’s The Baby-Sitter’s Club series.

Emerging Artist Showcase: Nidhi Chanani’s Pashmina (October 28, 2017– February 12, 2018)

In this heartwarming graphic novel debut, Nidhi Chanani weaves a tale about the hardship and self-discovery that is born from juggling two cultures and two worlds.

Cartoon Art Museum
781 Beach Street, San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 227-8666

« Previous PageNext Page »