UK – 75 Years Of DC Comics Signing

Comic writer Paul Levitz will be appearing at Forbidden Planet’s London Megastore on Wednesday 27th June at 6:00pm.

Paul Levitz began as an entrepreneur in high school as editor/publisher of The Comic Reader, the first mass-circulation fanzine devoted to comics news, winning two consecutive annual Comic Art Fan Awards for Best Fanzine. He went on to write over 400 stories of iconic characters including Superman, Batman, Legion of Super-Heroes, Wonder Woman and more, with sales of over 25 million copies and translations into over 20 languages.

As an executive, he led the DC Comics division of Time Warner as its senior business officer for three decades, and ultimately as President & Publisher from 2002-2009.

He continues to work in the comics field by serving on the board of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund along with other major creative and business figures in comics and consults for Warner Bros. and other companies.

His book, 75 Years Of DC Comics: The Art Of Modern Mythmaking won the U.K.’s Eagle Award for Favourite Comics-Related Book, Munich’s Peng Pris and the Eisner Awards for Best Comics-Related Book in the U.S.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Thor #1 Signing

Artist Christian Ward signs Thor #1 at Forbidden Planet on Wednesday 13th June from 6:00 – 7:00 PM!

Thor Odinson has regained his mantle – and with it, a wild new world of trouble on his mighty hands!

The artifacts of Asgard have been scattered across the earth, and to reclaim them, Thor will have to face some ugly truths. Like the production cost of hundreds of new hammers! And the Thunder God is going to need every last one of them if he’s going to stop the unstoppable Juggernaut.

Don’t miss the latest chapter of the King Thor saga with acclaimed BLACK BOLT artist Christian Ward, as the Thor of the far future encounters an old friend who’s undergone some startling changes.

Also available will be Black Bolt Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 and two fantastic, limited edition signed Giclees – each hand-numbered Marvel collectible measures 18” x 24” and is printed on 300gms smooth cotton.

Christian Ward is a full-time comic book artist currently working with Jason Aaron on THOR.

Alongside being the artist on Marvel’s Eisner and Hugo nominated BLACK BOLT series with writer Saladin Ahmed, he is also the co-creator of ODY-C with Matt Fraction for Image Comics. He’s worked with writers such at Nick Spencer, Al Ewing, Kieron Gillen, and Margaret Atwood.

Christian currently lives in Shrewsbury with his wife Catherine and a pug named Thor.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Deadendia Launch Party

Hamish Steele appears at Orbital Comics for a signing on Friday 1st June from 5:00 to 7:00 PM. Afterwards, we will be having a Director’s Commentary and Q+A with Hamish from 7:30 PM. FREE ENTRY.

Barney and Norma are just trying to get by and keep their jobs, but working at Dead End also means battling demonic forces, vengeful ghosts, time travelling wizards and scariest of all – their love lives.

Hamish Steele’s popular webcomic Deadendia was inspired by a short animation Hamish made for Cartoon Hangover, Dead End. It follows the lives of three amusement park employees who begin to suspect something paranormal lurks under the haunted house attraction! Nobrow now collect the first 8 issues in trade paperback.

Orbital Comics
8 Great Newport Street, London WC2H 7JA, United Kingdom
020 7240 0591

UK – Blood of the Four Signing

Author Christopher Golden & Tim Lebbon sign BLOOD OF THE FOUR and other titles at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on Tuesday 5th June from 6:00 – 7:00 PM!

The acclaimed authors of The Map of Moments and The Secret Journeys of Jack London join creative forces once more in this epic, standalone novel—an exciting dark fantasy of gods and mortals, fools and heroes, saviors and destroyers with a brilliant beam of hope at its core–that should more than appeal to readers of N.K. Jemisin and Brandon Sanderson.

In the great kingdom of Quandis, everyone is a slave. Some are slaves to the gods. Most are slaves to everyone else.

Blessed by the gods with lives of comfort and splendor, the royal elite routinely perform their duties, yet some chafe at their role. A young woman of stunning ambition, Princess Phela refuses to allow a few obstacles—including her mother the queen and her brother, the heir apparent—stand in the way of claiming ultimate power and glory for herself.

Far below the royals are the Bajuman. Poor and oppressed, members of this wretched caste have but two paths out of servitude: the priesthood… or death.

Because magic has been kept at bay in Quandis, royals and Bajuman have lived together in an uneasy peace for centuries. But Princess Phela’s desire for power will disrupt the realm’s order, setting into motion a series of events that will end with her becoming a goddess in her own right… or ultimately destroying Quandis and all its inhabitants.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Hope Signing

Artist John Bolton will be signing HOPE at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on Saturday 2nd June from 4:00 – 5:00 PM.

Continuing the successful and acclaimed SHAME series. A graphic novel like no other, philosophical, clever and thrilling!

Shame is dead, her demon father blasted back to Hell. Hope, newly born into the body of a young woman, stumbles from the battle-scarred castle still filled with Shame’s malevolent servants. The evil witch may have been defeated, but her dark forces are determined to stamp out Hope’s return to the world.

John was seven when he first encountered a paintbrush and it was love at first sight, offering him an output to visualise and create what he saw in his mind and put it to paper. Thus began a life-long ambition of creativity, with influences acquired from a wide variety of sources, but all connected by one underlying theme – the interesting and bizarre. John has been painting now for three decades. His painting displays a thorough understanding of each medium and subject he chooses to tackle. Inspiration comes not from outside influences, but from the story he is illustrating. The style stems from the content and emotion of a particular story. John has worked with many notable writers and editors and is currently working with Lovern Kindzierski on the continuing Shame Series. He works from his studio in London surrounded by giant aphids, grotesque masks, animal skulls and other bizarre objects.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Kid Lobotomy Signing

Writer Peter Milligan appears at Orbital Comics on Wednesday May 23rd, from 6:00 – 7:30 PM to sign copies of Kid Lobotomy: Volume 1.

A key forerunner of the “British invasion” that helped reinvigorate comics in the late eighties and early nineties, Peter Milligan is best known for his work at DC/Vertigo on titles such as Shade the Changing Man, Batman: Dark Knight, Dark City and Hellblazer, as well as at 2000AD (SkreemerHewligan’s Haircut) and Marvel (X-ForceX-StatixX-men). His latest undertaking (with Rat Queens artist Tess Fowler) Kid Lobotomy is the debut title at IDW’s creator-owned Black Crown imprint.

Orbital Comics
8 Great Newport Street, London WC2H 7JA, United Kingdom
020 7240 0591

UK – Void Trip Mini-Print Signing

Ryan O’Sullivan signs copies of Forbidden Planet’s exclusive Mini-Print edition of Void Trip at the London Megastore at 6:00 PM on 30th May.

Collecting issues 1 to 5, Void Trip is the story of Ana and Gabe, the last two humans left alive in the galaxy.

They’re low on fuel, they’re low on food, and they’re low on psychedelic space froot, but they’re still determined to make it to the promised land: hippy-paradise super-planet Euphoria.

This is the story of their journey, the friends and enemies they made along the way, and how the universe responded to those who dared to live freely within it.

Other work by Ryan O’Sullivan includes Turncoat as well as Warhammer and Dark Souls for Titan Comics.

The Mini-Print edition of Void Trip comes with an exclusive art print signed by Ryan O’Sullivan and artist Plaid Klaus.

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

UK – Charles Forsman Q&A + Signing

Charles Forsman appears in conversation with Tom Oldham at Gosh Comics on Monday the 14th of May at 7:30 PM to discuss THE END OF THE FUCKING WORLD.

RSVP on Facebook!

Gosh Comics
1 Berwick St, SoHo, London W1F0DR
United Kingdom

Tom Holland Swings Into Comicpalooza 2018

Press Release:

We’re super excited to have Tom Holland joining us at Comicpalooza 2018! Don’t miss your chance to meet him by purchasing your Tom Holland Autograph or Photo Op. Limited quantities available so buy now!

Tom Holland might be best known as Spider-Man, but he’s proven his versatility in all genres of film including adventures: The Lost City of Z; musicals: Billy Elliot The Musical; dramas: A Monster Calls. Then, of course, there’s his work as Peter Parker, aka your friendly neighborhood web slinger, in the MCU movies Captain America: Civil War and Spider-Man: Homecoming. Next, catch Tom as Spider-Man in the upcoming Avengers: Infinity War – and, at Comicpalooza!

Previously announced guests include: Krysten Ritter, Charlie Cox, LeVar Burton, Jeri Ryan, Brent Spiner, Michael Emerson, Henry Ian Cusick, Nestor Carbonell, Francois Chau, M.C. Gainey, Patrick Warburton, and more.

For the most up to date information on events, guests, admission prices and schedules, visit www.comicpalooza.com.

UK – Batman/TMNT Signing

Writer James Tynion IV signs Batman: The Rebirth Deluxe Collection and Batman/TMNT at the Forbidden Planet London Megastore on Sunday 29th April from 1:00 – 2:00 PM!

Collecting Batman: Detective Comics #934 – #949, the Rebirth Deluxe Collection begins when an elite fighting force modelled after the Dark Knight invades the city. In response, Batman assembles a team of his own: Batwoman, Tim Drake, Spoiler, Orphan and Clayface.

Then, a mysterious villain called First Victim appears and launches an assault on Batman and his team, forcing them to fight an enemy they know nothing about, who seems to have the support of an entire network of strange new foes!

Batman/TMNT collects the sold-out smash-hit miniseries in paperback! It all starts in Gotham City, as a series of deadly raids leads Batman to believe he is up against a group of highly trained ninjas.

Somehow, the Foot Clan has crossed over to another dimension-but they haven’t come alone: Leonardo, Raphael, Donatello and Michelangelo are on their trail!

Forbidden Planet London Megastore
179 Shaftesbury Avenue, London, WC2H 8JR
0207 420 3666

« Previous PageNext Page »