• kickass link
  • limetorrents
  • 1337x
  • kickass audio torrent
  • NB – Free Comic Book Day 2015

    FCBD-logo

    Nick Bradshaw, Danica “Karibu” Brine, Larry Higgins, André Boulard, Adam Atkinson, David Coates, Curtis Rioux, and André-Guy Landry appear at The Comic Hunter on Saturday, May 2nd to sign comics and celebrate Free Comic Book Day!

    RSVP on Facebook!

    The Comic Hunter (Moncton)
    465 Main St., Moncton, NB E1C 1C2
    506-855-4950

    BC – Pisces #1 Signing

    429_pisces

    Writer Kurtis J. Wiebe & artist Johnnie Christmas appear at Hourglass Comics on Saturday May 9th from 1:00 till 4:00 PM. Mr. Wiebe writes Rat Queens, the upcoming Pisces and has written Grim Leaper, Green Wake, Peter Panzerfaust and many more! Mr. Christmas draws Pisces and has drawn Sheltered, Grim Leaper, Murder Book and many more! Volume 2 of Rat Queens in trade paperback will be available for purchase and signing.

    RSVP on Facebook!

    Hourglass Comics and Games
    2625 Clarke Street, Port Moody, BC V3H1Z4
    604-931-4588

    ON – Kaptara #1 Signing

    on-kpatara

    Press Release:

    THE BEGUILING is very proud to present the launch of KAPTARA #1, featuring our good pals Kagan McLeod (he draws it!) and Chip Zdarsky (he writes it!). KAPTARA is the new ongoing Image Comics series by Chip & Kagan, a sci-fi adventure that Chip calls “Like ‘Saga’ but Gay.” (paraphrasing).

    Chip and Kagan will join us next-door to the shop at The Central, 603 Markham Street, where they will each have a quick drink, before signing your comics, and entertaining you with stories of its creation, probably!

    Kaptara #1 is release to comic stores everywhere on Wednesday April 22nd, but you should probably buy it at The Beguiling Books & Art.

    ABOUT KAPTARA:
    “A space expedition goes horribly wrong because if it didn’t there would be no story! Reluctant explorer Keith Kanga and his crew crash land on KAPTARA, a world filled with danger and weird danger and dangerous weirdos! And if he can’t survive, then Earth, the place where YOU live, is doomed! Join CHIP ZDARSKY (Sex Criminals the Duck) and KAGAN McLEOD (Infinite Kung Fu) as they put the “fi” back into “sci-fi” and pretty much disregard the “sci” part in this epic story of punching and love!”

    RSVP on Facebook!

    The Central
    603 Markham Street, Toronto, Ontario M6G 2L7
    +1 416-913-4586

    MegaCon joins with Fan Expo

    MegaConBanner2MegaCon gets sold to Canada’s Fan Expo, becomes MegaCon Orlando!

    Article Via the Orlando Business Journal

    Read it all HERE!

    ON – HowToons ReIgnition Signing

    HowtoonsReIgnition

    Artist Tom Fowler signs at Kingston Gaming Nexus on Saturday April 25, 2015 from noon till 5:00 pm!

    About the artist:
    As a cartoonist and illustrator, Tom Fowler has worked in comics, advertising, and film and game design. He has worked for Disney, Simon & Schuster, Wizards of the Coast, Hasbro, MAD, Valiant, Marvel, and DC Comics. His best known comics include the MAD MAGAZINE feature “MONROE”, VENOM, HULK SEASON ONE, and the critically acclaimed MYSTERIUS THE UNFATHOMABLE, and his latest work, HOWTOONS [RE]IGNITION.

    Kingston Gaming Nexus
    270 Bagot Street Kingston, ON K7L 3G5, Canada
    613-546-2565

    ON – SuperMutant Magic Academy Launch Party

    supermutant

    Jillian Tamaki appears at The Beguiling on Tuesday April 28th at 6:30 PM for the official launch-day event of her new comic, giving a talk about her work, reading from SuperMutant Magic Academy, and signing books. This is a great opportunity to ask vital questions about variant strains of Dungeons & Dragons, characters’ fates, transgressive performance art, and more.

    Store signing will take place at The Beguiling with a performance venue to be announced later. SuperMutant Magic Academy will be on sale at the event. Jillian’s books (with writer Mariko Tamaki) ‘Skim’ and ‘This One Summer’ are available in store now!

    About SuperMutant Magic Academy:
    SuperMutant Magic Academy paints a teenage world that is moody and ennui-filled but also wry and irreverent: the SuperMutant Magic Academy is a prep-school for mutants and witches but their paranormal abilities take a back seat to everyday teen concerns. Wendy, Marsha, Cheddar, Frances, and the other students will be your guides through the D&D games, performance art, unrequited crushes, andspell class tests that are the staples of life at the Academy.

    RSVP on Facebook!

    The Beguiling
    601 Markham Street, Toronto, ON M6G 2L7
    416-533-9168

    ON – Batman: Black & White Statue Signing

    fmanapul

    Writer/artist Francis Manapul appears at The Silver Snail this Wednesday, April 1, 2015 from 5:00 – 8:00 PM to sign his Batman: Black and White statue!

    About: Francis Manapul is a Filipino-born comic book artist living in Toronto, Canada. He is currently the writer and artist on DC’s DETECTIVE COMICS. In 2011 he was awarded the Joe Shuster Award for Outstanding Artist of the year, as well as an Inkwell Award of that same year. His past work for DC includes ADVENTURE COMICS, SUPERMAN/BATMAN, LEGION OF SUPER-HEROES and THE FLASH. In the past he’s penciled Iron and the Maiden, Necromancer, Sept Guerrieres, Tomb Raider, The Darkness, G.I, Joe, and Witchblade.

    RSVP on Facebook!

    The Silver Snail
    329 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON M5B 1R7
    416-593-0889

    TCAF Kids Day 2015 Guests & Schedule Announced

    tcaf15kids

    Press Release:

    The Toronto Comic Arts Festival is proud to announce TCAF KIDS DAY 2015, which will see the addition of TCAF Featured Guests Matt Holm & Jenni Holm, and an exclusive promotional poster by Gurihiru!

    Featuring some of the best and brightest kids-comic creators in the industry, TCAF KIDS DAY is a stand-alone event that takes place on Saturday, May 9th, from 10am to 4:30pm. It takes place just down the street from TCAF, about 10 minutes walk, at St. Paul’s on Bloor, 227 Bloor Street East. TCAF Kids Day is a great place to view large-format presentations by favourite TCAF Guests, and take part in crafts, activities, and storytimes, and purchase books from your favourite authors! Owlkids, Toronto Public Library, and Little Island Comics will be on hand all day to take part in the fun!

    Welcoming Jenni Hom & Matt Holm!
    We’re thrilled to announce that Jenni Holm & Matt Holm, the amazing sister & brother team behind the bestselling Babymouse and Squish book series’ will be returning to TCAF to kick off our day with their popular presentation! Jenni and Matt last visited TCAF in 2012, and they were just so awesome we had to have them back! Our thanks to Penguin Random House Canada for supporting their trip!

    Their presentation will be followed throughout the day by a who’s who of great kid, tween, and teen creators, including Kean Soo (Jellaby), Raina Telgemeier (Smile, Drama, Sisters) and Dave Roman (Astronaut Academy), George O’Connor (Zeus: King of the Gods), and all the way from Japan, Gurihiru (Avatar: The Last Airbender comics).

    TCAF Kids Day Schedule:
    10am-4:30pm: Event opens! Drop-in crafts, projects, and presentations all day!
    10:30am-11:30am: Jenni Holm & Matt Holm present: Get Graphic with Babymouse & Squish!
    11:45am-12:45pm: Kean Soo presents: Making Comics with Kean!
    1pm-2:15pm: Raina Telgemeier & Dave Roman present: Comics Dance Party!
    2:30pm-3:15pm: George O’Connor presents: Getting Mythological!
    3:30pm-4:15pm: Gurihiru will be drawing and chatting, live!

    TCAF Kids Day Poster by Gurihiru!
    We have a special treat for everyone too! The amazing creative team Gurihiru (two awesome ladies from Japan, working under one name) have produced a special poster celebrating TCAF Kids Day programming, and really everything that’s fantastic about comic books! We are seriously blown away by this image, and we thank Gurihiru for doing such an amazing job on it! This image will be printed as a poster and made available for purchase at TCAF and TCAF Kids Day.

    BC – Howard the Duck #1 Signing

    chip

    Chip Zdarsky, writer of Marvel’s best-selling Howard the Duck, artist of the hit Sex Criminals, and one of the funniest men in comics, will be signing books and meeting his fans at Curious Comics in downtown Victoria on Sunday March 29, 2015 from 2:00 – 4:00 PM.

    RSVP on Facebook!

    Curious Comics
    631 Johnson St, Victoria, BC V8W 1M7, Canada
    250-384-1656

    ON – Wayward Signing

    on0wayward

    Jim Zub, author of Skullkickers, Figment, Pathfinder, Dungeons & Dragons, and so much more, appears for a special signing event for his new graphic novel WAYWARD!

    Wayward Volume 1: String Theory, collects the first 5 issues of the Image Comics series into a handy trade paperback, for just $11.50! Featuring art by Steven Cummings, this Japanese-set urban fantasy series features a compelling story and beautiful artwork, with a very strong female lead! Perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer or other Whedonverse books.

    Jim Zub will be on hand signing at Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop, from 6pm-8pm on Wednesday, April 1st. Lots of Zub’s comics and trades will be available at the event too! See you there!

    RSVP on Facebook!

    Page & Panel: The TCAF Shop
    789 Yonge Street, Toronto, ON M4W 2G8
    416-323-9212

    Next Page »