NYC – The Shape of Water Screenings

Director Guillermo del Toro and cast members appear for Q&As for screening of THE SHAPE OF WATER at the Angelika New York.

  • Friday 12/1 following the 4:15pm show with Guillermo del Toro, Doug Jones, and Michael Stuhlbarg
  • Friday 12/1 following the 7:00pm show with Octavia Spencer and Richard Jenkins (*Guillermo del Toro, Doug Jones and Michael Stuhlbarg will also provide a special introduction to the 7:00pm show on Friday, 12/1)
  • Saturday 12/2 following the 7:00pm show with Guillermo del Toro, Doug Jones, and Michael Stuhlbarg 

ABOUT
From acclaimed director Guillermo del Toro comes THE SHAPE OF WATER, an otherworldly fairytale set against the backdrop of Cold War era America circa 1963 topping the shortlist for Academy Awards Best Picture contenders. In the hidden high-security government laboratory where she works, lonely Elisa (Sally Hawkins) is trapped in a life of silence and isolation, but her life is changed forever when she and co-worker Zelda (Octavia Spencer) discover a secret classified experiment. Also starring Michael Shannon, Richard Jenkins, Michael Stuhlbarg and Doug Jones.

RSVP on Facebook!

Angelika Film Center
18 W. Houston Street, New York, New York 10012
(212) 995-2570

CA – Justice League Cast Q&A + Signing

Voice actors Susan Eisenberg (Wonder Woman), Phil Lamarr (Green Lantern), Maria Canals-Barrera (Hawkgirl) and Voice Director Andrea Romano appear at the Perky Nerd on Saturday, November 18th from 2:00 – 5:00 PM for a Q&A and signing!

It will be $5 cash at the door which includes a comic, panel, and meet and greet. Plus, thanks to our wonderful friends at the WB, we will be giving away mini posters. Any purchase over $25 will earn a full size movie poster and JL shield pin while supplies last and earns you a ticket into the raffle to win a Justice League Funko POP and two free tickets to see the Justice League in theatres. You can also check out our Just Us League Fan Art Show in the art gallery featuring local artists. It’s going to be a superhero kind of Saturday.

RSVP on Facebook!

The Perky Nerd
1606 W. Magnolia Blvd., Burbank, California 91506
(818) 823-7511

CA – The Grouchy Historian Signing

Ed Asner and Ed Weinberger appear at the Santa Monica Library on Saturday, December 16, 2017 at 3:00 PM to present their new book, The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs.

For decades, Ed Asner has entertained audiences with his film and television roles, most notably as cantankerous news editor Lou Grant on The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Now, with political turmoil roiling the waves in virtually every aspect of American life, Ed and his co-author Ed. Weinberger wade into the debate with the new book The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs. In his typically irascible form, Asner “leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It’s about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.”

This event is ticketed. Free tickets for auditorium seating will be released one hour prior to program. Only one ticket per guest will be released, and guest must be present to receive a ticket. Seating is limited and on a first arrival basis. A book sale and signing follows.

Santa Monica Public Library
601 Santa Monica Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90401
(310) 458-8600

 

OK – Animaniacs LIVE

Actor Rob Paulsen (Yakko Warner, Pinky) and composer Randy Rogel bring ANIMANIACS LIVE to the Rialto Theatre on Friday, December 8th at 8:00 PM.  Get tickets at the link….

Press Release:

It’s time for Animaniacs…LIVE! The most zany, animany and totally insany Animaniacs are back! Fans of the beloved Warner Bros. animated series, are in for a treat as they get up close and personal with their favorite characters as they perform songs from the pop-culture hit cartoon series – live on stage in the all-new Animaniacs LIVE!

The Animaniacs LIVE! Concert is a musical revue, starring Rob Paulsen (Yakko) and Emmy Award-winning composer Randy Rogel, who created many of the memorable songs you STILL can’t remove from your brain pan, they bring the stage to life as the dynamic duo runs through an unforgettable playlist of Animaniacs hits.

In addition to the concert, Rob and Randy will share fun anecdotes and silly secrets from the many years of the making of the series. The concert will feature more than 20 of the most popular songs from Animaniacs, including ‘Yakko’s World’ and ‘I’m Mad’ — and fans will want to hear an updated version of the globe-trotting, world-famous ‘Yakko’s World’ song, featuring newly christened countries as they have come to be.

RSVP on Facebook!

Tower Theatre
425 NW 23rd St, Oklahoma City, OK 73103
(405) 708-6937

ON – Doomsday Clock #1 Release Party

GEOFF JOHNS appears for a signing at Gotham Central Comics on Tuesday, November 21st at 11:57 PM for the Doomsday Clock MIDNIGHT RELEASE PARTY!

Geoff Johns is one of the most prolific and popular contemporary comic book writers. He has written highly acclaimed stories starring Superman, Green Lantern, The Flash, Teen Titans, and Justice Society of America. He is the author of The New York Times best-selling graphic novels GREEN LANTERN: RAGE OF THE RED LANTERNS, GREEN LANTERN: SINESTRO CORPS WAR, JUSTICE SOCIETY OF AMERICA: THY KINGDOM COME, SUPERMAN: BRAINIAC and BLACKEST NIGHT.

RSVP on Facebook!

Gotham Central Comics and Collectibles
1400 Aimco Blvd. Unit 1, Mississauga, ON L4W 1B2, Canada
+1 905-212-9992

CO – An Evening with Kevin Smith

Kevin Smith appears at Comedy Works on both Monday, December 11, 2017 at 7:30 PMTickets available at the link…

A writer, comedian, podcaster, and film director, KEVIN SMITH has written and directed numerous films, including Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma, Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back, Red State, Tusk, and Yoga Hosers; Creator of AMC’s Comic Book Men; authored Silent Bob Speaks, Shootin’ the Sh*t with Kevin Smith, My Boring-Ass Life and most recently Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat,Lazy Slob Who Did Good. He can be heard daily at smodcast.com, a vast network of podcasts.

RSVP on Facebook!

Comedy Works
1226 15th St, Denver, CO 80202
(303) 595-3637

CA – The Grouchy Historian Signing

Television legend Ed Asner, with writer and producer Ed Weinberger, appear at the Grove’s Barnes & Noble on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 7:00 PM to discuss their new book The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

This is a wristbanded event. A wristband will be issued on a first come, first serve basis to customers who purchase The Grouchy Historian from Barnes & Noble at The Grove beginning December 12th at 9am
• Limit 1 wristband per book
• Check Back for more Details as they Become Available

RSVP on Facebook!

Barnes & Noble – The Grove
189 The Grove Dr, Ste K 30, Los Angeles, CA 90036
(323) 525-0270

CA – Fatman on Batman LIVE

Kevin Smith (Clerks, Yoga Hosers) and Marc Bernardin (Static Shock, Genius) appear at Scum & Villainy Cantina on Monday, November 20, 2017 at 7:00 PM for a live recording of FATMAN ON BATMAN to talk about all the news in movie make believe, terrific TV and anything that squeaks in Geek!

Tickets available at the link…

RSVP on Facebook!

Scum & Villainy Cantina
6377 Hollywood Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90028

NV – Julie Newmar Signing

Julie Newmar, the original Catwoman on the 1966 Batman television show, appears at Animazing Gallery on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 4:00 PM!

Ms. Newmar will be signing an exclusive limited edition on canvas (to be unveiled soon – stay tuned) by famed DC comic artist Alex Ross. The edition is limited to only 66 and debuts Alex Ross’s first and only rendering of Ms. Newmar.

*RSVP required. Space is limited.

RSVP on Facebook!

Animazing Gallery – The Grand Canal Shoppes‌
3377 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
(702) 785-0061

LA – Ed Asner Signing

Press Release:

Meet Emmy Award-winning actor Ed Asner when he comes to Octavia Books on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 3:00 PM to discuss and sign his new book, THE GROUCHY HISTORIAN: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and NutjobsYou must purchase the book from Octavia Books to attend. 

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It’s about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.

Ed Asner is a television legend, well known for his role as Lou Grant on The Mary Tyler Moore Show and subsequent spin-off Lou Grant. He is the winner of seven acting Emmy Awards, and has been nominated a total of twenty times. Asner also made a name for himself as a trade unionist and a political activist. He served two terms as president of the Screen Actors Guild, from 1981-1985, during which he was an outspoken critic of former SAG President Ronald Reagan, then the US president, for his Central American policy. He lives in Los Angeles.

Octavia Books
513 Octavia Street New Orleans, LA 70115-2055
504-899-READ (7323)

Next Page »