ON – Doomsday Clock #1 Release Party

GEOFF JOHNS appears for a signing at Gotham Central Comics on Tuesday, November 21st at 11:57 PM for the Doomsday Clock MIDNIGHT RELEASE PARTY!

Geoff Johns is one of the most prolific and popular contemporary comic book writers. He has written highly acclaimed stories starring Superman, Green Lantern, The Flash, Teen Titans, and Justice Society of America. He is the author of The New York Times best-selling graphic novels GREEN LANTERN: RAGE OF THE RED LANTERNS, GREEN LANTERN: SINESTRO CORPS WAR, JUSTICE SOCIETY OF AMERICA: THY KINGDOM COME, SUPERMAN: BRAINIAC and BLACKEST NIGHT.

RSVP on Facebook!

Gotham Central Comics and Collectibles
1400 Aimco Blvd. Unit 1, Mississauga, ON L4W 1B2, Canada
+1 905-212-9992

MA – The Fog Screening

Actress Adrienne Barbeau appears at the Coolidge Corner Theatre on Saturday, December 2, 2017 at 11:59 PM to host a screening of THE FOG!

The Coolidge Corner Theatre is proud to honor actor Adrienne Barbeau by presenting her with our second Coolidge After Midnite Award, recognizing her outstanding work in some of the greatest genre films ever made!

Adrienne has provided a few of the most iconic performances in the history of horror, action, and science fiction, working with such legendary filmmakers as John Carpenter, Wes Craven, and George A. Romero. While her films feature ghosts, grotesque creatures, and ghouls from beyond the grave, it’s Adrienne’s humanity that leaves a lasting impression and continues to speak to new audiences decades later.

RSVP on Facebook!

Coolidge Corner Theatre
290 Harvard Street, Brookline, MA 02446-2908
617-566-6660

CA – Brian Kesinger Signing

Cartoonist Brian Kesinger (Read to Your Octopus, Travelling with Your Octopus) appears at the San Clemente Library on Saturday, November 18th at 2:00 PM to discuss his art and career including his upcoming books Penned Dragons and Inked Tails.

San Clemente Library
242 Avenida del Mar, San Clemente, CA 92672
(949) 492-3493

CO – An Evening with Kevin Smith

Kevin Smith appears at Comedy Works on both Monday, December 11, 2017 at 7:30 PMTickets available at the link…

A writer, comedian, podcaster, and film director, KEVIN SMITH has written and directed numerous films, including Clerks, Mallrats, Chasing Amy, Dogma, Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back, Red State, Tusk, and Yoga Hosers; Creator of AMC’s Comic Book Men; authored Silent Bob Speaks, Shootin’ the Sh*t with Kevin Smith, My Boring-Ass Life and most recently Tough Sh*t: Life Advice from a Fat,Lazy Slob Who Did Good. He can be heard daily at smodcast.com, a vast network of podcasts.

RSVP on Facebook!

Comedy Works
1226 15th St, Denver, CO 80202
(303) 595-3637

CA – The Grouchy Historian Signing

Television legend Ed Asner, with writer and producer Ed Weinberger, appear at the Grove’s Barnes & Noble on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 7:00 PM to discuss their new book The Grouchy Historian: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and Nutjobs.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

This is a wristbanded event. A wristband will be issued on a first come, first serve basis to customers who purchase The Grouchy Historian from Barnes & Noble at The Grove beginning December 12th at 9am
• Limit 1 wristband per book
• Check Back for more Details as they Become Available

RSVP on Facebook!

Barnes & Noble – The Grove
189 The Grove Dr, Ste K 30, Los Angeles, CA 90036
(323) 525-0270

TX – Local Comic Shop Day 2017 Signing

Greg Peters, Leah Williams, Kerry Gammill, and Steve Erwin sign at Collected: Your Pop Culture Headquarters on Saturday, November 18, 2017 to celebrate Local Comic Shop Day!

RSVP on Facebook!

Collected: Your Pop Culture Headquarters
3016 Alta Mere Dr., Fort Worth, TX 76116
(817) 945-1722

CA – Fatman on Batman LIVE

Kevin Smith (Clerks, Yoga Hosers) and Marc Bernardin (Static Shock, Genius) appear at Scum & Villainy Cantina on Monday, November 20, 2017 at 7:00 PM for a live recording of FATMAN ON BATMAN to talk about all the news in movie make believe, terrific TV and anything that squeaks in Geek!

Tickets available at the link…

RSVP on Facebook!

Scum & Villainy Cantina
6377 Hollywood Boulevard Los Angeles, CA 90028

NV – Julie Newmar Signing

Julie Newmar, the original Catwoman on the 1966 Batman television show, appears at Animazing Gallery on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 4:00 PM!

Ms. Newmar will be signing an exclusive limited edition on canvas (to be unveiled soon – stay tuned) by famed DC comic artist Alex Ross. The edition is limited to only 66 and debuts Alex Ross’s first and only rendering of Ms. Newmar.

*RSVP required. Space is limited.

RSVP on Facebook!

Animazing Gallery – The Grand Canal Shoppes‌
3377 Las Vegas Boulevard South, Las Vegas, NV 89109
(702) 785-0061

CA – Live Talks LA with Denis Leary

Denis Leary appears at the Bootleg Theater on Wednesday, December 6, 2017 at 8:00 PM to present his new book, Why We Don’t Suck: And How All of Us Need to Stop Being Such Partisan Little Bitches. Tickets available at the link…

Denis Leary is a five-time loser at the Emmy Awards. And the Golden Globes. He hopes to one day also lose an Oscar, a Grammy, and a Tony. His first literary foray Why We Suck: A Feel Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid was a New York Times bestseller but not nominated for the National Book Award. In his long and storied entertainment career, Leary has also never won The Stanley Cup, The Nobel Peace Prize, or an argument with his wife. He looks forward to playing Kellyanne Conway in the President Trump biopic. He is an actor, writer, producer, singer and comedian. He was the star and co-creator of Rescue Me, which ran for seven seasons. His film credits include playing Captain George Stacy in Marc Webb’s film, The Amazing Spider-Man, Cleveland Browns Head Coach Vince Penn in Ivan Reitman’s film, Draft Day, and as the voice of Francis in A Bug’s Life and Diego in the Ice Age franchise. From 2015 to 2016, Leary wrote and starred in the comedy series, Sex, Drugs and Rock & Roll on FX.

Denis Leary refutes the current highly partisan Right Wing Nutjob versus Left Wing Snowflake approach to American politics—where you’re either one or the other, with no gray areas in between. Leading a new protest movement called Gray Lives Matter, he takes equal opportunity aim at the screaming heads we see arguing every night on CNN and Fox — or as he calls them “Clinton News Network” and “Fair and Balanced Republican Report.” With a devoted mission to Make America Laugh Again, Denis tackles the topics we all hold close to our American hearts: Twitter, Instagram, and the seemingly endless search for fame and diet vodka.

“In a country so gluten-free that a box of jelly donuts is now a bigger threat than Vladimir Putin—where college kids are more afraid of Ann Coulter than HIV—it’s time for someone to stand up and stop the insanity. Or at least defend the double cheeseburger. With a side order of free porn.” And Denis feels he is the guy.

He’ll answer such burning questions as: when will Hillary run out of pantsuits? And why wasn’t her campaign motto Hey America—It’s My Turn!? And why does Beyoncé think he’s Bryan Adams? And why doesn’t Denis follow the millennial lead and post pictures of his food on social media? As Denis says in the book “Trump’s election gave me faith that even I could be president. Look at his track record: canceled TV show, thin skin, angry tweets and an attractive wife. According to that formula, I’m one bad combover away from living in The White House.” We’re all in this together and Denis Leary is here to remind us what makes America #7 on the list of Best Countries To Live In—which may sound bad, but means at least we still make the playoffs.

RSVP on Facebook!

Bootleg Theater
2220 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90057
(213) 389-3856

LA – Ed Asner Signing

Press Release:

Meet Emmy Award-winning actor Ed Asner when he comes to Octavia Books on Saturday, December 9, 2017 at 3:00 PM to discuss and sign his new book, THE GROUCHY HISTORIAN: An Old-Time Lefty Defends Our Constitution Against Right-Wing Hypocrites and NutjobsYou must purchase the book from Octavia Books to attend. 

In the tradition of Al Franken and Michael Moore, Ed Asner—a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show—reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama’s death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There’s no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn’t agree on what it meant. What was the president’s job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It’s about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.

Ed Asner is a television legend, well known for his role as Lou Grant on The Mary Tyler Moore Show and subsequent spin-off Lou Grant. He is the winner of seven acting Emmy Awards, and has been nominated a total of twenty times. Asner also made a name for himself as a trade unionist and a political activist. He served two terms as president of the Screen Actors Guild, from 1981-1985, during which he was an outspoken critic of former SAG President Ronald Reagan, then the US president, for his Central American policy. He lives in Los Angeles.

Octavia Books
513 Octavia Street New Orleans, LA 70115-2055
504-899-READ (7323)

« Previous PageNext Page »