CO – Tempests and Slaughter Signing

Author Tamora Pierce appears at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church for a signing of her new novel Tempests and Slaughter on Tuesday, February 6th at 6:00 PM. Old Firehouse Books is proud to partner with St. Luke’s to make this event possible.

Arram Draper is on the path to becoming one of the realm’s most powerful mages. The youngest student in his class at the Imperial University of Carthak, he has a Gift with unlimited potential for greatness–and for attracting trouble. At his side are his two best friends: Varice, a clever girl with an often-overlooked talent, and Ozorne, the “leftover prince” with secret ambitions. Together, these three friends forge a bond that will one day shape kingdoms. And as Ozorne gets closer to the throne and Varice gets closer to Arram’s heart, Arram realizes that one day –soon–he will have to decide where his loyalties truly lie.

In the Numair Chronicles, readers will be rewarded with the never-before-told story of how Numair Salmalin came to Tortall. Newcomers will discover an unforgettable fantasy adventure where a kingdom’s future rests on the shoulders of a talented young man with a knack for making vicious enemies.

RSVP on Facebook!

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
2000 Stover St, Fort Collins, CO 80525
970-493-7512

Greg Ayres & Monica Rial Appear at Anime Boston 2018

Press Release:

Anime Boston, the largest anime convention in New England, announced its first round of North American guests of honor today. Greg Ayres and Monica Rial will be appearing at Anime Boston at the Hynes Convention Center, Boston, MA, on March 30 through April 1, 2018.

Greg Ayres has been blasting his way through 2017! He was thrilled to make his second appearance in Dragon Ball Super earlier this year as Frost, and equally excited to help blast bugs as Geo in Sony Picture’s Starship Troopers: Traitor of Mars. 2017 also gave him the opportunity to reprise one of his favorite roles as Son Goku in Saiyuki Reload Blast, and he will also be appearing in Haikyu as Yu Nishinoya, as well as voicing Zenji Marui in Food Wars.

With over 290 credits to his name, he has managed to play a variety of characters that are almost as colorful as his hair. Some recent roles include Nagisa Haruki in Free and Free Eternal Summer, MonoKuma in Danganronpa, Clear in Dramatical Murder, and Doug in Gangsta. He’s thrilled to be a part of the Toonami re-launch in the roles of Ganta Igarashi in Deadman Wonderland and Heihachi Hayashida in Samurai 7, and even more thrilled to follow that up the in the following summer’s thriller Another as Kouichi Sakakibara.

Monica Rial has been working in the anime industry for almost 20 years and she is currently listed as the most prolific anime voice actor in the USA. She has lent her voice to over 450 anime including: Assassination Classroom (Kayano), Black Butler (Mey Rin), Certain Magical Index (Index), Deadman Wonderland (Shiro), Fairy Tail (Mirajane), FMA Brotherhood (May Chang), Hetalia (Belarus), Michiko & Hatchin (Michiko), My Hero Academia (Tsuyu), One Piece (Tashigi), Ouran High School Host Club (Renge), Panty and Stocking (Stocking), Saga of Tanya the Evil (Tanya), Seraph of the End (Krul), Soul Eater (Tsubaki), Watamote (Tomoko), Yona of the Dawn (Yona), and many more.

You can catch her as Bulma in Dragon Ball Z Kai and Dragon Ball Super currently on Toonami. She voiced Jubilee on Aqua Teen Hunger Force and has also appeared in several video games including Ms. Splosion Man, Tribes Ascend, Smite, the Angry Birds series, Borderlands 2, Dungeon Boss, and the Borderlands Pre-Sequel.

Previously announced guests include FLOW and Asaka.

About Anime Boston: With nearly 26,000 attendees in 2017, Anime Boston is an annual three-day Japanese animation convention held in Boston, Mass. Anime Boston 2018 is scheduled for Friday, March 30 through Sunday, April 1 at the Hynes Convention Center and Sheraton Boston Hotel. More information about Anime Boston can be found at www.animeboston.com.

About New England Anime Society, Inc.: The New England Anime Society was founded in 2001. Based in Massachusetts, The New England Anime Society, Inc. is parent organization of Anime Boston and is dedicated to furthering public education and understanding of the Japanese language and culture through visual and written media. More information about The New England Anime Society is available at www.neanime.org.

SF – Mech Cadet Yu Signing

Writer Greg Pak (PLANET HULK, WEAPON X) will be at Comix Experience on Sunday, February 11th, at 11:00 AM to sign his new all-ages comic MECH CADET YU! Perfect for fans of Pacific Rim and The Iron Giant, Mech Cadet Yu is filled with action, adventure, and heart, and we can’t wait to talk to Greg all about it at our Graphic Novel of the Month Kids’ Club meeting!

About MECH CADET YU: Once a year, giant robots from outer space come to Earth and bond with young cadets from the elite Sky Corps Academy to defend the world from the terrifying aliens known as the Sharg. It’s a great honor to be chosen, but this year…well, the wrong kid was picked.

RSVP on Facebook!

Comix Experience
305 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA 94117
(415) 863-9258

DC – Killing and Dying Signing

Cartoonist Adrian Tomine appears at Politics and Prose at The Wharf on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 6:00 PM to present his New York Times bestselling graphic novel, with his stories acting as a stunning showcase of the possibilities of the graphic novel medium, exploring loss, creative ambition, identity, and family dynamics.

RSVP on Facebook!

Politics and Prose at The Wharf
70 District Square SW, Washington, DC 20002
(202) 488-3867

CA – PVP Signing

Cartoonist Scott Kurtz appears at the Charles M. Schulz Museum on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 1:00 PM. In addition to creating the popular webcomic, PVP, Kurtz has co-authored a book on making webcomics, co-created and produced several animated web series and launched a second ongoing webcomic, Table Titans.

RSVP on Facebook!

Charles M. Schulz Museum
2301 Hardies Lane, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 579-4452

NJ – Hermes: Tales of the Trickster Signing

Author George O’Connor appears at WORD on Sunday, February 4, 2018 at 2:00 PM for an afternoon of graphic novels and Greek history with HERMES: TALES OF THE TRICKSTER.

In volume ten of Olympians, George O’Connor delves into the myth of Hermes, the trickster god. From his infancy, when he bewitches animals and bends them to his will (stealing a herd of Apollo’s prize cattle in the bargain), to his adolescence and adulthood when he becomes father to the equally mischievous Pan, Hermes’s story is wildly entertaining as he brings a little bit of chaos to everything he touches or creates.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
George O’Connor is a New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of the Olympians series as well as such graphic novels as Journey into Mohawk Country and Ball Peen Hammer. In addition to his graphic novel career, Mr. O’Connor has published several children’s picture books.

RSVP on Facebook!

WORD Jersey City
123 Newark Ave, Jersey City, New Jersey 07302
(201) 763-6611

NYC – Comic Book Club w/ Action Presidents

Writer Fred Van Lente and artist Ryan Dunlavey (Comic Book History of Comics, Action Philosophers) appear on the Comic Book Club for a live podcast on Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 8:00 PM!

RSVP on Facebook!

The PIT Loft
154 W 29th St, Fl 2nd, New York, New York 10001
(212) 244-1722

IN – Is This Guy For Real Signing

Cartoonist Box Brown appears at Monroe County Public Library on Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 3:30 PM to present and sign his latest graphic novel from First Second Books IS THIS GUY FOR REAL: THE UNBELIEVABLE ANDY KAUFMAN. Vintage Phoenix Comic Books will be on hand with copies of the book for sale, which you can have signed by the author!

About the book:
Comedian and performer Andy Kaufman’s resume was impressive – a popular role on the beloved sitcom Taxi, a high-profile stand-up career, and a surprisingly successful stint in professional wrestling. Although he was by all accounts a sensitive and thoughtful person, he’s ironically best remembered for his various contemptible personas, which were so committed and so convincing that all but his closest family and friends were completely taken in. Why would someone so gentle-natured and sensitive build an entire career seeking the hatred of his audience? What drives a performer to solicit that reaction? Graphic novelist Box Brown takes on the complex and often hilarious life of Andy Kaufman.

Box Brown is an Ignatz Award-winning cartoonist, illustrator, and comic publisher from Philadelphia. His book Andre the Giant: Life and Legend was released in 2014 and spent three weeks on the New York Times bestsellers list. His second graphic novel with publisher First Second is Tetris: The Games People Play. Brown launched the independent comics publishing house Retrofit Comics in 2011.

RSVP on Facebook!

Monroe County Public Library
303 E Kirkwood Ave, Bloomington, IN 47408
(812) 349-3050

OR – Orange Thief Release Party + Art Exhibition

Sophie Franz appears at Floating World Comics on Thursday, February 1, 2018 at 6:00 PM for the Orange Thief release party and art exhibit.

Orange Thief is a compilation of images pulled from Sophie’s voluminous collection of sketchbooks. Doodles! Hedge mazes! Half-assed ripoffs of famous paintings! Kermit! Cowboys! More cowboys! Horse-faced men! Man-faced horses! All of these and more can be found between the covers of this little sketchbook collection.

Sophie Franz lives in Portland, Oregon and teaches painting and cartooning at the Multnomah Arts Center. Someday she’ll make another comic.

RSVP on Facebook!

Floating World Comics
400 NW Couch Street, Portland, OR 97209
(503) 241-0227

NJ – MINE! Signing

Press Release:

East Side Mags is a proud community sponsor and we’re super happy to support Planned Parenthood – a rad organization that provides much needed medical attention to the communities that they serve!

A ton of creators (some we know, some we hope to meet soon) have come together and put an anthology together called Mine! in support of Planned Parenthood with profits going to support the organization. We were quick to jump on the Kickstarter when we saw it and now we’re buying additional copies so we can bring you a handful of the amazing minds that contributed to this much-required reading material!

Hang out with Dave Kelly (Tales of the Night Watchman, So What? Press), Matt Miner (Gwar Orgasmageddon, Toe Tag Riot), Liana Kangas (Independent comic artist), Fabian Lelay (Jade Street Protection Services), and Jude Vigants (Tales of the Night Watchman).

Join us from 1pm-6pm on Saturday, January 27th! Writers and artists will be signing copies of the book that we’ll have for sale and artists will be sketching for customers too! Don’t miss this one-of-a-kind, East Side Mags event!

RSVP on Facebook!

East Side Mags
7 S Fullerton Ave, Montclair, NJ 07042
(862) 333-4961

« Previous PageNext Page »