Kids Read Comics Announces the Finalists for the 2017 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics

Press Release:

Kids Read Comics announces the finalists for the 2017 Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics. The books on the shortlist cover a broad range of styles and content, a true reflection of the burgeoning variety of comics for young readers available today.

The McDuffie judges read dozens of books published in 2016 before narrowing their selections to ten: Bad Machinery Volume 6: The Case of the Unwelcome Visitor, by John Allison; Blip! by Barnaby Richards; The Cloud, by K.I. Zachopoulos and  Vincenzo Balzano; The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, by Drew Weing; Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier; Goldie Vance, by Hope Larson, Britney Williams, and Sarah Stern; Hilda and the Stone Forest, by Luke Pearson; Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Vol. 1: BFF, by Amy Reeder, Brandon Montclare, and Natacha Bustos; Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Vol. 1: Hooked On A Feline, by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams, and Natasha Allegri; and Princess Princess Ever After, by Katie O’Neill.

The winner of the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Kids’ Comics will be announced on Saturday, June 17, 2017 at the start of the Ann Arbor Comic Arts Festival, a free, two-day event located at the Ann Arbor District Library and co-sponsored by AADL and Kids Read Comics.

The award is named for the late comics and animation writer (and friend of Kids Read Comics) who created Static Shock and co-founded the pioneering comic book company Milestone Media, and a recipient of the Humanitas Prize for film and television writing intended to promote human dignity, meaning, and freedom.


Have a question or a comment? Share it below.
Also, add a pic to your profile by gettting a gravatar.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

More in Comic Books, Convention News, Michigan
NYC – La Borinqueña Mural Exhibition

Press Release:  Casita Maria Center for Arts & Education presents the unveiling of their newest mural dedicated to La Borinqueña...